BNP Paribas World Team Cup

The BNP Paribas World Team Cup is the wheelchair tennis equivalent of the Davis Cup and Fed Cup. There are divisions for men, women, quads and a junior event supported by the Cruyff Foundation.

It is held annually with a different nation playing host each year.

The 2017 BNP Paribas World Team Cup was hosted across two venues, Baia di Conte and Alghero Tennis Club, both in Sardinia, Italy, on 1-7 May.

The 2018 BNP Paribas World Team Cup will be held in Apeldoorn, Netherlands on 28 May-3 June.

2018 Regional Qualifications & Entries:

The four annual Regional Qualifications take place as follows in 2018, with one team qualifying for the men's event and one team qualifying for the women's event in Apeldoorn, Netherlands.

AMERICAS: Orlando, USA - 30th January to 2nd February 2018
Winners: Men - USA, Women - Argentina - Report

AFRICAS: Nairobi, KENYA - 15th to 18th February 2018 
Winners: Men - Morocco, Women - Kenya - Report

ASIA & OCEANIA: Colombo, SRI LANKA - 22nd to 25th February 2018
Winners: Men - Japan, Women - Korea, Rep. - Report

EUROPE: Vilamoura, PORTUGAL - 11th to 15th April 2018
Winners: Men - Spain, Women - Great Britain - Report

After three of the four 2018 Regional Qualifications and the ITF Wheelchair Tennis Committee awarding the first wild cards, the current Entries for the 2018 BNP Paribas World Team Cup can be found here.


2017 Entries and Final Results:

Following the completion of the regional qualifiers and the confirmation of wild cards, 44 teams from 24 countries contested the 2017 BNP Paribas World Team Cup in Alghero, Sardinia.

France won its eighth men's title in the World Team Cup’s 33 year history, China, P.R. upset Netherlands to win its first women's title, Great Britain won the quad title for the fifth time since 2001 and USA completed a hat-trick of junior titles, having also won in 2015 and 2016.

For all the final results, draws and scores from the round-robin and knockout phases of the event click here or refer to the PDF files below.

Men's World Group: FRANCE (S. Houdet, N. Peifer, F. Cattaneo & G. Menguy)

Women: CHINA, P.R. (Z. Zhu, H. Huang & Z. Wang)

Quad: GREAT BRITAIN (A. Lapthorne, A. Cotterill & J. Shaw)

Junior: USA (C. Stroud, J. Nieh & N. Melnyk)

 ** Change to Entry Criteria from 2017 **

Following a period of consultation regarding the BNP Paribas World Team Cup, the ITF Wheelchair Tennis Committee has approved the following changes to the entry criteria for the Men’s division to allow for more venues and nations to be in a position to host the event.

From 2017 onwards, there will be only one Men's World Group (MWG) made up of 16 teams as follows:

• Nations placed 1-10 in the men in 2016 will gain direct entry for 2017.

• Four (4) nations will receive entry through winning the regional qualification events. In the event of there being only three (3) qualification zones, the remaining position will be given to one of the other qualification zones.

• The remaining two (2) positions will be awarded as Wild Cards; one (1) to the Host Nation and one (1) to the winner of the MWG2 division from the 2016 BNP Paribas World Team Cup. In the event of the Host Nation already having direct entry to the event, this Wild Card will be awarded to a nation at the discretion of the ITF Wheelchair Committee.

• Nations placed 11 & 12 in MWG in 2016 as well as all MWG2 Nations placed 2-12 will be relegated and be required to qualify the following year.

Please note that the entry criteria for the Women’s, Quad and Junior events for the BNP Paribas World Team Cup remain unchanged.

2018 DATES

The 2018 dates and venues for the BNP Paribas World Team Cup Regional Qualifications and Finals are shown below.

BNP Paribas World Team Cup Americas Qualifications
- Organisers: United States Tennis Association
- Dates: 30 January-2 February
- Venue: Orlando, USA

BNP Paribas World Team Cup African Qualifications
- Organisers: Kenyan Lawn Tennis Association
- Dates: 15-18 February
- Venue: Nairobi, KEN

BNP Paribas World Team Cup Asian Qualifications
- Organisers: Sri Lanka Tennis Association
- Dates: 22-25 February
- Venue: Colombo, SRI

BNP Paribas World Team Cup European Qualifications
- Organisers: Federacao Portuguesa de Tenis
- Dates: 11-15 April
- Venue: Vilamoura, POR

BNP Paribas World Team Cup 2018
- Organisers: KNLTB
- Dates: 28 May-3 June
- Venue: Apeldoorn, NED