Rio 2016

Rio 2016 Paralympic Games EmblemAfter London 2012 saw the Paralympics return to its spiritual home, featuring 20 sports and over 4,200 athletes, Rio 2016 promises to be another spectacular sporting occasion, with approximately 4,300 athletes from more than 160 countries predicted to take part in the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games.

The Rio 2016 Paralympic Games will be held from 7-18 September 2016. The Paralympic Tennis Event event will be held at Barra Tennis Centre, the same venue as will be used for the Rio 2016 Olympic Tennis Event.

It will be the seventh time that wheelchair tennis has appeared at the Games as a full medal sport, having made its debut as a demonstration sport at Seoul 1988. Wheelchair tennis was fully admitted to the Paralympics at Barcelona 1992, where men's and women's singles and doubles were contested. After further successful events at Atlanta 1996 and Sydney 2000, the quad class was introduced at Athens 2004.

Medal Events

There will be six gold, silver and bronze medals on offer at Rio:

- Men’s Singles 
- Men’s Doubles 
- Women’s Singles  
- Women’s Doubles 
- Quad Singles  
- Quad Doubles


For full details of the qualification criteria download the attached PDF

As outlined in the criteria, the winners of the men’s and women’s singles at the 2014 Asian Para Games and the 2015 Parapan Am Games will gain automatic qualification for the 2016 Paralympic Tennis Event.

2014 Asian Para Games Report

Related links

International Paralympic Committee website

- Rio 2016 website