25 May 2014

World Team Cup draw produces intriguing ties

News Article

Host nation and second seed Netherlands will play Australia, winner of men’s World Group II in 2013, and Korea Republic in the round-robin phase of the 2014 BNP Paribas World Team Cup after the draw was made on Sunday evening at Nieuwe Sloot Tennis Centre in Alphen.

After the 31 countries contesting the ITF’s flagship wheelchair tennis team event had received plenty of enthusiastic local support during a parade from the centre of Alphen to the tennis centre, Netherlands arrived on centre court to huge cheers.

Esther Vergeer, formerly a member of 12 World Team Cup-winning Dutch women’s teams and the official ambassador for this year’s BNP Paribas World Team Cup was then among the special guests welcome to court for the official welcome speeches.

With Netherlands and Australia’s upcoming meeting in Pool B of the men’s World Group among the eye catching ties for the round-robin phase of the event, top seed and defending champion France will play former finalist Poland and nine-time champion USA, which still holds the record for most men’s World Group titles win since the first World Team Cup in 1985.

Fourth seed Great Britain, fifth in 2013, will aim to reach the semifinals after Pool C ties against Austria and Thailand. Meanwhile, two-time champion Sweden, who edged Great Britain out of a place in the 2013 semifinals, faces a tough task to advance again this year after being drawn with Argentina and third seed and former champion Japan.

Netherlands to play Chile and USA

With 26 victories in 28 women’s World Group events to date, top seed Netherlands will begin to retain the title on home soil with round-robin Pool A ties against Chile and first-time World Team Cup participant Kenya, the winner of the African Qualification in February this year.

Second seed Germany, Russia, winner of the European Qualification, and 1994 champion USA will meet in pool 2 of the women’s World Group, while 2013 runner-up and fourth seed Great Britain play Thailand and Chinese Taipei, winner of this year’s Asian Qualification, in intriguing set of ties in Pool C.

Two former finalists are drawn in Pool D of the women’s World Group, with 2013 bronze medallist Japan, and Korea Republic, the silver medallist in 2005, when the World Team Cup was last held in Netherlands, both set to play Colombia, the winners of this year’s American Qualification

USA to face former finalists in quad round-robin ties

The two round-robin pools in the quad event will see eight time champion and top seed USA open its title defence with ties against former finalists Italy, the 2006 silver medallist and third seed this year, and Japan, the 2001 silver medallist.

Austria, making its debut in the quad event this year, joins USA, Italy and Japan in Pool A.

Pool B also has some enticing ties to come, with second seed Great Britain, a three time winner of the quad title set to meet Israel, the winner of its fourth quad title in 2012 and runner-up to USA in 2013. Israel and Great Britain will also play Canada and Sweden in the round-robin phase of the competition to decide who earns a place in the semifnals.

Former champions to meet in junior round-robin pools

Top seed Netherlands, the bronze medallist in 2012, has been draw to meet Great Britain and USA, both also former multi-medallists, in the round-robin phase of the year’s junior event, which is once again supported by the Johan Cruyff Foundation.

Netherlands won the latest of its seven junior titles to date in 2012, beating USA in the final, and the two nations will meet ahead of the knockout phase of this year’s event. Reigning champion Great Britain only has one of its team members from the trio that won the junior title in 2013 and faces a potentially tough task this time against USA, winner of the first junior title in 2000, and Netherlands.

Second seed Spain will begin its bid to improve on last year’s silver medal with round-robin Pool B ties against Russia, Turkey and Chile as Chile makes its debut in the junior event at the BNP Paribas World Team Cup.

Brazil to meet Malaysia and Germany in World Group II

Brazil and Malaysia, the winners of two of this year’s BNP Paribas World Team Cup regional qualification events have been drawn together in Pool A of men’s World Group II.

Top seed Brazil, winner of the Americas Qualification and a former World Group II champion in 2006, and Malaysia, winner of the Asia Qualification have been drawn to meet Germany in their respective round-robin ties. Second seed Belgium, who has the highest ranked player in World Group II in world No. 4 Joachim Gerard, is drawn to face Sri Lanka and Morocco in Pool B.

Pool C has produced another set of intriguing match-ups after Spain and Switzerland, who met earlier this year in the final of the European Qualification, also set to meet each other during the three days of round-robin ties. Spain and Switzerland will both also play last year’s World Group II runner-up Greece,

Canada and Italy are drawn in Pool D alongside Romania, which makes its BNP Paribas World Team Cup debut after replacing Nigeria in the World Group II line-up.