23 Feb 2013

Semifinalists decided in Nuremberg

Match Report

Photo: Do-Won KimKatharina Kruger (GER)

Diede de Groot of the Netherlands moved into the women’s singles semifinals on Friday’s second day of the Bavarian Indoor Open, part of the NEC Wheelchair Tennis Tour, as Turkey’s Busra Un became the first seeded player to bow out of the ITF 2 Series event in Nuremberg.

De Groot, the reigning Cruyff Foundation Junior Masters champion, dominated her quarterfinal from the outset against fourth seed Un to record a 60 61 victory. The 16-year-old now faces top seed Katharina Kruger of Germany for a place in Sunday’s final. Kruger moved into the last four after defeating Turkey’s Julide Yildiz 60 62.

German second seed Bianca Osterer was taken to three sets by Lucyna Mietrikiwicz of Poland before progressing to the semifinals. Osterer eventually dominated the final set to win 62 46 61 and will now face third seed Pauline Helouin of France.

All four seeds advanced to the men’s singles semifinals in straight sets, although Dutch third seed Tom Egberink again had a tough match for the second day in a row. Egberink edged out seventh seed Piotr Jaroszewski 76(1) 64 and now faces a tough semifinal against French second seed Nicolas Peifer, who again produced a commanding performance to beat Hungarian eighth seed Laszlo Farkas.

Martin Legner’s 63 64 win over Steffen Sommerfeld of Germany has earned the Austrian fourth seed a  semifinal against top seed Joachim Gerard of Belgium after Gerard beat fifth seed Frederic Cattaneo 61 63.

In the quad singles, all the talking points came in the top half of the draw as Germany’s Marcus and Maximilian Laudan both bowed out in three sets.  Marcus took American top seed Greg Hasterok close, but Hasterok eventually book his place in the semifinals 61 16 63. Maximilian was unable to capitalise on a one set lead against Marcus Jonsson and the Swedish player dominated the third set to prevail 46 75 61.

Germany are represented in the quad semifinals after Nick Nobbe eased past Frenchman Virgil Silva 60 62, but French fortunes improved in the other quarterfinal as second seed Stephane Erismann defeated Harald Pramendorfer of Austria 60 61.