13 Oct 2013

Santos and Mayara win Copa Guga Kuerten

Match Report

Photo: Gabriel HeusiNatalia Mayara (BRA) and Guga Kuerten

Carlos Santos and Natalia Mayara ensured a Brazilian clean sweep of the men’s and women’s titles at the Copa Guga Kuerten, part of the NEC Wheelchair Tennis Tour. The pair won the singles titles to add to the doubles titles they had already won at the ITF 3 Series event on Saturday’s penultimate day of play in Florianopolis, Brazil.

Top seed Santos successfully retained the men’s singles title after beating his doubles partner Mauricio Pomme 62 61 in their all-Brazilian semifinal, while Rafael Medeiros ensured an all-Brazilian final after winning the important points for a 64 75 victory over Australia’s Keegan Oh-Chee.

To cap a weekend when all the singles and doubles champions were the same as at the Brasilia Open two weeks ago, Santos dominated the men’s singles final to defeat second seed Medeiros 62 62 in a rematch of the 2012 final.

Mayara, who won the women’s consolation singles at the Copa Guga Kuerten in 2011 before having to miss last year’s event, beat her fellow countrywoman and doubles partner Rejane Candida 63 62 in Saturday women’s singles semifinals. Meanwhile, Chile’s defending champion Macarena Cabrillana eased to a 62 60 win over her compatriot Isabel Aguirre to set up Sunday’s final.

However, Mayara edged a first set tiebreak and went on to earn a 76(7) 62 victory over Carbrillana for her second NEC Tour title in her home country in three weeks.

Santos and Pomme justified top seeding in the men’s doubles, defeating Colombia’s Fabio Padilla and Oh-Chee 61 60.

As in the women’s singles final, second seeds Mayara and Candida also thwarted Chilean hopes in the women’s doubles decider as they defeated 2012 champions and top seeds Cabrillana and Maria Paz Diaz 61 63.   

Gabriel Pereira won the all-Brazilian junior singles draw after successive three sets wins and a victory over the top seed Fabio Bernardes in the final.

Seventeen-year-old second seed Pereira dominated the final set of his semifinal against Jair Neto to advance to the final 75 46 61 and then defeated top seed Bernardes 63 26 62 to claim the title.

Singles Draws

Doubles Draws