16 Jun 2013

Sanada, Kamiji, Sithole win Daegu titles

Match Report

Takashi Sanada (JPN)

Takashi Sanada and Yui Kamiji secured a Japanese doubles in the men’s and women’s singles at the Daegu Open, part of the NEC Wheelchair Tennis Tour, while South Africa’s Lucas Sithole claimed victory in the quad singles for back-to-back ITF 1 Series titles.

A week after his compatriot Takuya Miki won his first ITF 1 Series title at the Korea Open, Sanada clinched his first IT1 Series title in Daegu.

Twelve month on from Sanada earning a place in his first and only other previous ITF 1 Series final at the 2012 Daegu Open, it was Evans Maripa’s turn to achieve that career landmark this year, but Sanada proved the stronger than the South African in the final as he wrapped up a 63 61 victory.

Kamiji and Sithole won the women’s singles and quad singles titles on Saturday’s penultimate day.

After a 64 64 loss to Brit Jordanne Whiley in the final of last week’s Korea Open, Japanese world No. 7 and top seed Kamiji turned the tables on the second seed this week to earn a narrow 75 46 63 victory.

Sithole clinched his second ITF 1 quad singles title in successive weeks as he dominated his final against Malaysia’s Azman Hasan for a 60 63 victory, having been taken to three sets by Hasan in the final of the Korea Open.

Sanada and Australia’s Ben Weekes retained the men’s doubles title after the second seeds beat Japanese top seeds Miki and Satoshi Saida 62 76(2).

Kamiji and Korea Republic’s Ju-Yeon Park justified top seeding in the women’s doubles after beating surprise finalists Faizatul Ahya Abdullah Thani of Malaysia and Ratana Techamaneewat of Thailand 60 62. Thani and Techamaneewat had earlier beaten British second seeds Louise Hunt and Jordanne Whiley 26 64 (10-8).

Despite missing out in the quad singles, Hasan won the quad doubles partnering Japan’s Mitsuteru Moroishi. The duo beat top seeds Takahiro Koga of Japan and Sithole 62 60 in the semifinals before going on to seal a 60 61 win over Korean second seeds Myoung-Sic Nam and Ho Sang Wang to lift the title.