08 May 2013

Kunieda and van Koot head Roland Garros entries

News Article

Photo: Paul ZimmerShingo Kunieda (JPN)

The Fédération Française de Tennis (FFT) has confirmed the entries for the Roland Garros Wheelchair Tennis Event, a part of the NEC Wheelchair Tennis Tour and the second Grand Slam of the year, which takes place on 5-7 June 2013.

The top seven ranked players at the entry deadline of 15 April, plus one wildcard, make up the eight players for the men's and women's events.

World No. 1 ranked players Shingo Kunieda and Aniek van Koot head the entries for the men's and women's singles.

In the men's field, Stephane Houdet of France is the defending champion, while Maikel Scheffers of the Netherlands, who won the title in 2011, is also a strong contender.

A new name will be added to the women's singles roll of honour following the retirement earlier this year of six-times champion Esther Vergeer. Vergeer's fellow Dutchwoman van Koot won her first Grand Slam title at the Australian Open in January and will be one of the favourites.

(Figures in brackets denote world ranking at entry cut-off)

Men Women
Shingo Kunieda (JPN) (1) Aniek van Koot (NED) (1)
Stephane Houdet (FRA) (2) Sabine Ellerbrock (GER) (2)
Gustavo Fernandez (ARG) (3) Jiske Griffioen (NED) (3)
Maikel Scheffers (NED) (4) Marjolein Buis (NED) (4)
Ronald Vink (NED) (5) Lucy Shuker (GBR) (5)
Gordon Reid (GBR) (6) Kgothatso Montjane (RSA) (6)
Stefan Olsson (SWE) (7) Sharon Walraven (NED) (7)
Michael Jeremiasz (FRA) (9) (WC) Katharina Kruger (GER) (11) (WC)