20 Aug 2012

Full list of Paralympic singles and doubles entries

News Article

Photo: Lu Guang / Chen GongDavid Wagner and Nicholas Taylor (USA)

The International Tennis Federation (ITF) today confirmed the full list of singles and doubles entries for the London 2012 Paralympic Tennis Event at Eton Manor on 1-8 September. A total of 112 players from 31 countries will compete at the venue for six gold medals, with singles and doubles competitions held in men’s, women’s and quad categories. The doubles teams comprise those players already contesting the singles events.

The men’s singles event will feature 64 players, women’s singles 32 players and quad singles 16 players. The quad event is open to both men and women. The doubles events feature 28 men’s teams, 11 women’s teams and six quad teams.

Singles entries were a combination of direct acceptances based on the ITF wheelchair world rankings of 21 May 2012, and Bipartite Commission Invitation places awarded by the ITF Wheelchair Tennis Committee and the International Paralympic Committee (IPC). The winners of the 2010 Asian Para Games and the 2011 Para PanAm Games also received a direct entry.

Three-time Paralympic champion Esther Vergeer of Netherlands heads the women’s singles entries and will bid to extend her unbeaten Paralympic singles record. The 30-year-old will also attempt to win her third Paralympic doubles title with new partner Marjolein Buis, having won doubles gold in Sydney and Athens, and silver in Beijing.

Japan’s Shingo Kunieda will bid to defend his Paralympic men’s singles title in a field headed by world No. 1 Stephane Houdet of France. Houdet and Michael Jeremiasz are defending men’s doubles champions, with the line-up also including Athens winners Kunieda and Satoshi Saida.

In the quad category, Britain’s Peter Norfolk will look to win his third successive Paralympic title on home soil, while Americans Nick Taylor and David Wagner will attempt to win their third successive quad doubles title.

The draw for the 2012 Paralympic Tennis Event will take place on site at Eton Manor at 12:00 local time (11:00 GMT) on Thursday 30 August.

Eton Manor is the only purpose-built Paralympic venue for London 2012. It features nine competition courts and four practice courts, with a total capacity of 10,500 spectators. There are three show courts, with Centre Court holding 5,000 spectators.

ITF President Francesco Ricci Bitti said: “Following the most successful Olympic Tennis Event in history, I am confident that this year’s Paralympic Tennis Event will be an equally memorable competition, with the wonderful new facility at Eton Manor providing a great legacy for tennis in the UK. Wheelchair tennis is one of the fastest growing Paralympic sports, and we are looking forward to sell-out crowds and some fierce competition.”

Please view the PDF below for the full list of entries.