27 Jul 2013

Fernandez, Wagner, van Koot claim Belgian Open titles

Match Report

Photo: Reg CaldecottDavid Wagner (USA)

Gustavo Fernandez, Aniek van Koot and David Wagner claimed the men’s, women’s and quad singles titles on Saturday at the Belgian Open, the latest ITF 1 Series tournament on the NEC Wheelchair Tennis Tour in Jambes, Namur.

Top seed Fernandez repeated his 2012 quarterfinal win over Joachim Gerard denying the crowd a home victory and the Belgian a second men’s singles title in as many weeks.

A week after Gerard won his first Super Series title at the British Open on an indoor court due to wet conditions, the weather in Jambes forced another major final to be played indoors. This time however it was Fernandez who coped better, playing his way to a 61 63 victory and bettering his runners-up spot in 2012.

It was Fernandez’s fifth singles title of the year and his fourth at ITF 1 Series level, while the Argentinian also claimed his seventh win in nine meetings over Gerard.

Wagner wins tenth Belgian Open title

A day after partnering his fellow American Greg Hasterok to win the quad doubles title, world No. 1 David Wagner won his tenth Belgian Open quad singles title in fine style.

Wagner took his tally of titles in Belgium into double figures after a 60 61 win over fourth seed Hasterok. He also claimed his ninth quad singles title of 2013 on the NEC wheelchair Tennis Tour and his sixth at ITF 1 Series level.

World No. 2 Aniek van Koot ended the tournament with both the women’s singles and women’s doubles titles after Germany’s Sabine Ellerbrock had to pull out of the finals of both events due to the recurrence of an eye infection. Van Koot had been leading 3-0 in the opening set of the women’s singles final when the world No. 1 retired.

Ellerbrock’s retirement also gave the top seeds, Dutch pair Aniek van Koot and Sharon Walraven, a walkover in the women’s doubles final.

Belgian Open Final Draws and Results