02 Jun 2012

Fernandez, van Koot, Sithole win Korea Open titles

Match Report

Photo: Philippe BuissinAniek van Koot (NED)

Gustavo Fernandez of Argentina, Aniek van Koot of the Netherlands and Lucas Sithole of South Africa won the men's singles, women's singles and quad singles title on Saturday at the Korea Open, part of the NEC Wheelchair Tennis Tour, as the latest ITF 1 Series event came to an end at the Olympic Park Tennis Centre in Seoul.

Two weeks on from winning his first Super Series title at the Japan Open and subsequently gaining his first world top 10 ranking, world No 9 and top seed Fernandez was in unstoppable form as he clinched the first ITF 1 Series title of his career after beating British third seed and world No. 10 Gordon Reid. 62 60 in the men' singles final.

World No. 2 van Koot won her eighth ITF 1 Series women's singles title as she produced another confident performance to beat world No. 8 Daniela di Toro of Australia 62 62.

Van Koot's last five NEC Tour titles have all been at ITF 1 Series as she now heads to Roland Garros next week for the second Grand Slam of 2012.

Like Fernandez, Sithole also won his first ITF 1 Series title when he beat Anders Hard of Sweden 64 63 in the in the quad singles final, gaining some compensation for being on the other side of the net when Hard and Jamie Burdekin won Friday's quad doubles final.