22 Jan 2012

Australian Open - updated entries

News Article

Photo: Philippe BuissinSatoshi Saida (JPN)

Tennis Australia and the ITF have announced that Shingo Kunieda (JPN) and Jiske Griffioen (NED) have both had to withdraw from the Australian Open Wheelchair Championships, which form part of the NEC Wheelchair Tennis Tour.

Both players have had to withdraw for medical reasons.

The Australian Open Wheelchair Championships, the first Grand Slam of the year, will be held at Melbourne Park from 25-28 January 2012.

World No. 8 Satoshi Saida (JPN), the next ranked player at the closing date, replaces Kunieda in the men's field..

With world No. 8 Sharon Walraven (NED) having originally been awarded the wild card entry in the women's field of eight players, World No. 9 Yui Kamiji (JPN) replaces Griffioen in the women's  field as the next ranked player on the ranking.  

The top seven ranked players at the entry deadline, plus one wildcard, make up the eight players for the men's and women's events.

The top three ranked players at the entry deadline, plus one wildcard, make up the four players for the quad event.

(Figures in brackets denote world ranking at entry cut-off)

Men Women
Maikel Scheffers (NED) (2) Esther Vergeer (NED) (1)
Stephane Houdet (FRA) (3) Aniek van Koot (NED) (2)
Ronald Vink (NED) (4) Marjolein Buis (NED) (4)
Nicolas Peifer (FRA) (5) Sabine Ellerbrock (GER) (5)
Robin Ammerlaan (NED) (6) Daniela di Toro (AUS) (6)
Stefan Olsson (SWE) (7) Annick Sevenans (BEL) (7)
Satoshi Saida (JPN) (8) Sharon Walraven (NED) (8)
Ben Weekes (AUS) (13) (WC) Yui Kamiji (JPN) (9) (WC)


David Wagner (USA) (1)
Peter Norfolk (GBR) (2)
Noam Gershony (ISR) (3)
Andrew Lapthorne (GBR) (4) (WC)