Tony Trabert Cup (M40)

The Tony Trabert Cup is for the men's 40 age category and was first contested in 2000. The United States Tennis Association (USTA) donated the trophy in honour of former player Tony Trabert.

In 2014, the Tony Trabert Cup was held from 21-26 April in Florida, USA.

The third seeded Austrian team won the title for the first time, defeating last years winners, the Netherlands, in the final. The team of Werner Eschauer, Gerald Mandl, Thomas Charamza and Herwig Koelbl won an exciting final which went down to the deciding doubles.

Honour roll

Tony Trabert Cup winners Austria

- Winner: Austria
- Runner-up: Netherlands

- Winner: Netherlands
- Runner-up: France

- Winner: France
- Runner-up: USA

- Winner: France
- Runner-up: USA

- Winner: France
- Runner-up: USA

- Winner: Italy
- Runner-up: France

Tony Trabert

Tony Trabert, the archetypal 1950s American athlete with a strong physique, crewcut and pugnacious personality, is known to tennis fans today as former Tournament Director of the US Open.

But in 1955 he achieved a stranglehold over men’s tennis, triumphing at three of the four Grand Slams and capturing 18 singles and 12 doubles titles at the 23 tournaments he entered.

Unusually for a player in that era he was equally good on all surfaces, because in addition to an attacking game with firm volleys he owned superb ground strokes, particularly on the backhand.

Between 1950 and 1955, he was a stalwart of USA's Davis Cup team, joining Vic Seixas in his country’s only victory over Australia in an eight-year stretch in 1954.

His Grand Slam singles parade began in 1953, when he won his first US title without losing a set, brushing aside French champion Ken Rosewall in the last four and finishing with a decisive 64 61 61 victory over Seixas, the reigning Wimbledon champion.

In 1954 and 1955, he was unbeaten at Roland Garros, trouncing Art Larsen and Sven Davidson in the two finals. No other American won the title until Michael Chang in 1989.

Trabert went on to win Wimbledon in 1955 without dropping a set, taking out Jaroslav Drobny, the holder, in the quarterfinals, Budge Patty, the 1950 champion, in the semifinals and crushing Kurt Nielsen 63 75 61 in the final.

He repeated the feat at Forest Hills, allowing Lew Hoad only seven games in the semifinals and avenging his one blemish of the year against Rosewall in the title round. The Aussie had wrecked Trabert’s chances of winning the Grand Slam in the semifinals of the Australian Championships.

Trabert also had a strong doubles record. When his playing career ended in the early 1960s he became a coach and a TV commentator and served as the American Davis Cup captain in 1978 and 1979, leading the team to victory both times.


Click the links below to find out more information about each age category in the ITF Seniors World Team Championships.

- Italia Cup (M35)

- Tony Trabert Cup (M40)

- Dubler Cup (M45)

- Fred Perry Cup (M50)

- Austria Cup (M55)

- Suzanne Lenglen Cup (W35)

- Young Cup (W40)

- Margaret Court Cup (W45)

- Maria Esther Bueno Cup (W50)

- Maureen Connolly Cup (W55)