Maureen Connolly Cup (W55)

The Maureen Connolly Cup is for the women's 55 age category and was donated by the Maureen Connolly Brinker Foundation in conjunction with the United States Tennis Association (USTA). The event was first contested in 1992 in Tyler, Texas.

In 2013, the Maureen Connolly Cup was held on18-23 March in Antalya, Turkey.  The American team successfully defended the title for the seventh straight year with victory over Great Britain in the final for the third year in a row. The American team was Diane Barker, Susan Wright, Tina Karwasky and Patricia Purcell.

Honour roll

2013USA, 2013 Maureen Connolly Cup winners
- Winner: USA
- Runner-up: Great Britain

- Winner: USA
- Runner-up: Great Britain

- Winner: USA
- Runner-up: Great Britain

- Winner: USA
- Runner-up: Netherlands

- Winner: USA
- Runner-up: Spain

Maureen Connolly

Maureen Connolly, known as "Little Mo", was one of the most remarkably successful champions the game has known.

Extremely determined and with a high degree of concentration, she won the singles title at the US Championships at the tender age of 16 in 1951.

Thereafter, she lost only four singles matches - two to Doris Hart, one to Shirley Fry and one to Beverley Fleitz - before tragically cutting her career short after breaking her leg in a riding accident in 1954.

Connolly became the first female player to win a Grand Slam of claiming all four major championships in the same calendar year, a feat she achieved in 1953.


Click the links below to find out more information about each age category in the ITF Seniors World Team Championships.

- Italia Cup (M35)

- Tony Trabert Cup (M40)

- Dubler Cup (M45)

- Fred Perry Cup (M50)

- Austria Cup (M55)

- Suzanne Lenglen Cup (W35)

- Young Cup (W40)

- Margaret Court Cup (W45)

- Maria Esther Bueno Cup (W50)

- Maureen Connolly Cup (W55)