Maria Esther Bueno Cup (W50)

The Maria Esther Bueno Cup is for the women's 50 age category and has a place in the competition's history as the original women's seniors team event.

The trophy was donated by the Brazilian Tennis Federation in 1983 with the inaugural event being staged in Portschach, Austria.

In 2015, the Maria Esther Bueno Cup was held from 8-13 June in La Baule, France.  USA defeated France 2-1 to take the title in a repeat of the 2013 result.  The USA team consisted of Ros Nideffer, Fran Chandler, Gretchen Rush and Tracy Houk.

USA 2015 Maria Esther Bueno Cup champions
Honour roll

- Winner: USA
- Runner-up: France

Winner: France
- Runner-up: USA

- Winner: USA
- Runner-up: France

- Winner: Australia
- Runner-up: USA

- Winner: USA
- Runner-up: Australia

- Winner: USA
- Runner-up: Great Britain

Maria Esther Bueno

Maria Bueno was the most graceful and artistic player of her generation and the most prolific, in terms of success, to emerge from South America.

The elegant Brazilian captured four US Open singles titles and three Wimbledon singles titles between 1959 and 1966. She also reached the finals at the other two majors during this time.

In doubles play, Bueno achieved a Grand Slam in 1960 with Christine Truman in Australia and with Darlene Hard in France, England and USA.

She collected a total of 63 titles during a career which spanned 20 years but was effectively cut short by an elbow injury in 1967.

In 1983, the Brazilian Tennis Federation donated the Maria Esther Bueno Cup for women players in the fifty age category. This was the first Women's Team Competition. The inaugural event was held in Pörtschach, Austria.


Click the links below to find out more information about each age category in the ITF Seniors World Team Championships.

- Fred Perry Cup (M50)

- Austria Cup (M55)

- Von Cramm Cup (M60)

- Maria Esther Bueno Cup (W50)

- Maureen Connolly Cup (W55)

- Alice Marble Cup (W60)