In 2011, the Seniors World Individual Championships was cancelled due to the devastating earthquake in Christchurch, New Zealand. It was scheduled to begin on 27 February.

The earthquake struck NZ's South Island the previous week during the Seniors World Team Championships, causing the team competition to be abandoned at the Christchurch venue.

“We send our sincere sympathies to the people of Christchurch who have suffered so much due to the earthquake that hit their city on Tuesday,” said ITF President Francesco Ricci Bitti, speaking at the time.

“While we are, of course, relieved that all the players, captains and officials who were in Christchurch this week are safe, we are mindful of the loss of life and the large number of injuries that have occurred in Christchurch.

“We thank Tennis New Zealand and Canterbury Tennis for their outstanding efforts on behalf of the Seniors World Team and Individual Championships. We also thank the players for their support of both events and their willingness to play on in these difficult conditions.”


Click the links below to view the past champions, along with results and drawsheets, from the ITF Seniors World Individual Championships.

- 2012 San Diego, USA

- 2011 Christchurch, New Zealand

- 2010 San Luis Potosi, Mexico

- 2009 Mallorca, Spain

- 2008 Antalya, Turkey

- 2007 Antalya, Turkey

- 2006 Durban, South Africa

- 2005 Perth, Australia

- 2004 Antalya, Turkey

- 2003 Hannover, Germany

- 2002 Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA

- 2001 Velden, Austria

- 2000 Buenos Aires, Argentina