18 Jan 2012

Przysiezny & Van Uytvanck in Glasgow singles title wins


By Nick Fishpool

Photo: Mark NouillanMichal Przysiezny (POL)

GLASGOW, GREAT BRITAIN: 3rd seed Michal Przysiezny of Poland won the Men’s singles title in the Men’s $15k event by beating top seed Mirza Basic in today’s final.

The Pole showed the standard of tennis which took him into the world’s top 100 during 2010 as he overwhelmed the top seed to take the first set 61. Basic fought back however and took the second set to a tie-break and had a set point at 6-5. Przysiezny held serve and then broke to win 9-7 and the title.

The women's singles title went to Belgian No. 2 seed Alison Van Uytvanck. The Belgian brushed aside the challenge from Britain's Francesca Stephenson in straight sets 63 60.

There was British success in the Men’s Doubles event with Dominic Inglot & Chris Eaton, seeded 2,  winning the title beating fellow countrymen and top seeds Sean Thornley & David Rice 75 62.

Anna Fitzpatrick and Samantha Murray justified their top seeding winning the all-British Women’s Doubles final beating Alexandra Walker and Lisa Whybourn 62 63.

Earlier in the tournament, twin brothers Kevin & Scott Griekspoor of the Netherlands celebrated their 21st birthday by being drawn to play each other in the first round at Scotstoun Leisure Centre, Glasgow. Both had won through three rounds of qualifying to qualify for the main draw.

Kevin beat his brother Scott 61 63.


  • Michal Przysiezny (POL) (en        )GBR F1 and $10,000 Glasgow (en        )
  • Dominic Inglot and Chris Eaton (GBR) (en        )Anna Fitzpatrick and Samantha Murray (GBR) (en        )
  • Francesca Stephenson (GBR) (en        )George Morgan (GBR) (en        )
  • Jan Minar (CZE) (en        )Jan Minar (CZE) (en        )
  • Michael Ryderstedt (SWE) (en        )Mirza Basic (BIH) (en        )
  • Aimee Gibson (GBR) (en        )Twins Kevin and Scott Griekspoor (NED) (en        )
  • Emma Devine (GBR) (en        )Francesca Stephenson (GBR) (en        )
  • Harriet Dart (GBR) (en        )Lisa Whybourn (GBR) (en        )
  • Samantha Murray (GBR) (en        )Alexandre Sidorenko (FRA) (en        )
  • Dan Evans (GBR) (en        )Scotstoun Leisure Centre, Glasgow (en        )