23 Mar 2018

Inaugural Development awards presented in Europe

News Article

ITF Board member Aleksei Selivanenko, ITF President David Haggerty and Tennis Europe President Vladimir Dmitriev

ITF President David Haggerty presented five nations with the Award for Excellence in Tennis Development during the official dinner at Tennis Europe’s AGM in Budapest on Thursday 22 March.

The award, which is designed to recognise exceptional progress achieved by National Associations in the area of tennis development, will be presented on an annual basis to a nation, or a select number of nations, within each Regional Association.

The five winners from Tennis Europe in 2018 were Cyprus, Hungary, Latvia, Poland and Portugal.

Cyprus was recognised for excellence in events, facilities, coaching, performance programmes and participation programmes; Hungary drew distinction for excelling in events; Latvia was honoured for excellence in performance programmes; Poland excelled in coaching; and Portugal drew praise for its excellence in participation programmes.