15 Jan 2018

ITF announces 2018 GSDF Team to Australia

News Article

Photo: Srdjan StevanovicSada Nahimana (BDI)

The ITF has announced a nine-strong team of players for a three-week tour of Australia - the first trip to the opening major of the year for a Grand Slam Development Funded team since 2007.

The ITF sends teams to each of the other three Grand Slam events, but this is the first time tennis' world governing body has organised the entirety of a trip to Australia for an International 18 and Under GSDF team, having offered travel grants in the last programme of this kind 11 years ago.

After a week-long traing camp to adjust to the conditions, the following players will participate in this week's AGL Loy Yang Traralgon Junior International ahead of the opening junior Grand Slam of the year next week.


Yeongseok Jeong (KOR)
Yanki Erel (TUR)
Christian Didier Chin (MAS)
Adrian Andreev (BUL)
Filip Cristian Jianu (ROU)


Daniela Vismane (LAT)
Gergana Topalova (BUL)
Sohyun Park (KOR)
Sada Nahimana (BDI)

The team will play the following schedule:

7-12 January 2018: Training Camp
13-18 January 2018: AGL Loy Yang Traralgon Junior International (G1) 
20-27 January 2018: Australian Open Junior Championships (GA)

The team is financed by the Grand Slam Development Fund (GSDF), providing players not only with the opportunity to take part in top level international competition but also the invaluable experience of travelling abroad as part of a team under the guidance of a coach.

The team will be accompanied by three GSDF coaches: Roberta Burzagli (BRA), Adrian Muscillo (AUS) and Glenn Hamilton (AUS).