20 Dec 2017

Record-breaking season draws to a close

News Article

ITF Beach Tennis World Championships

As the 2017 ITF Beach Tennis Tour season comes to an end, it is time to reflect on some of the numbers that have impacted upon the year:

Beach Tennis - numbers 2017 Number of ranked players on the Tour as at the ITF Beach Tennis end of year rankings release.

Beach Tennis - numbers 2017Total number of tournaments featuring on the ITF Beach Tennis Tour in 2017, up 5% from 2016's total figure.

Beach Tennis - numbers 2017Percentage of tournaments that offered prize money on the ITF Beach Tennis Tour in 2017.

Beach Tennis - numbers 2017A record number of nations were represented at the Pan American Championships - the previous high was 8 nations in 2016.

Beach Tennis - numbers 2017European Championship titles for Marco Garavini, including his wins in 2016 and 2017 with fellow No.1 Luca Cramarossa, and in 2008 with Paolo Tazzari when the tournament first began.

Beach Tennis - numbers 2017Pan American Championship wins for Joana Cortez, maintaining her record of holding the title every year since the inaugural event in 2013. She won twice with Samatha Barijan in 2013 and 2015, once with Flavia Muniz in 2014 and twice with Rafaella Miiller in 2016 and now 2017.

Beach Tennis - numbers 2017Number of year-end No.1 titles for Marco Garavini - a record amongst the men. Simona Briganti and Federica Bacchetta follow closely behind with 4 titles each.

Beach Tennis - numbers 2017Times that Italy have won the World Team Championship. Brazil in 2013 and Russia in 2016 were the only other nations to win since the first Championship in 2012.

Beach Tennis - numbers 2017Number of countries that were welcomed onto the ITF Beach Tennis Tour for the first time, those being Canada, Egypt and Puerto Rico.

Beach Tennis - numbers 2017World Championship wins for Federica Bacchetta, having won in 2017, 2014 and 2010.

Beach Tennis - numbers 2017First-ever non-Brazilian players to triumph at the Pan American Championships; Ali Colmenares and Ramon Guedez.