31 Oct 2017

Entries announced for 2017 Pan American Championships

News Article

By Nick Fishpool

Photo: Nathalie CeccoliDiogo Carneiro and Ralff Abreu (BRA)

The nations set to compete at the 2017 Beach Tennis Pan American Championships have been announced, with a huge jump in numbers on previous years and a debut from Caribbean nation Bonaire.

Once again taking place in Aruba, players from eleven nations will take part in the event with an eye on winning the title at the final major Championships of 2017.

The eleven represented nations, a new record for these Championships, include, debutant Bonaire. The Caribbean island is joined by the only three nations to have featured in all past editions of the Pan American Championships. As well as hosts Aruba, Brazil - the nation supplying the adult winners of the past four years - and Venezuela will also take part, with the latter seeing its junior players triumph at this year’s World Team Championships and the inaugural junior Pan American Championships events in 2016.

Also in action will be players from Colombia, Ecuador, Puerto Rico and the United States, who are all returning having competed in 2016. The Championships also welcomes back Argentina, Bolivia and Chile who all last competed in 2015 when the tournament was last staged in Brazil.

As in 2016, the action will unfold on Aruba’s Palm Beach in Oranjestad over three days starting on 10 November with the weekend’s play also featuring events in the junior categories.

2017 Pan American Championships - competing nations