23 Nov 2017

NEC Wheelchair Tennis Masters Entries Updated

News Article

Photo: Tennis FoundationYui Kamiji (JPN)

Brazil's Ymanitu Silva has joined Brit Antony Cotterill in the field for the quad singles at the 2017 NEC Wheelchair Tennis Masters.

Silva will make his NEC Masters debut following the withdrawal of Australia's world No. 3 Dylan Alcott due to injury. Cotterill will contest the NEC Masters for the second successive year after the ealier withdrawal of Dutchman Sam Schroder.

The ITF's season-ending championship for the world's top singles players on the UNQLO Wheelchair Tennis Tour will be held in Loughborough, Great Britain on 29 November-3 December.

The top eight men's singles and women's singles players and the top six quad singles players on the UNIQLO Wheelchair Tennis Rankings at the cut-off date of 16 October qualify for the 2017 NEC Wheelchair Tennis Masters.

The ITF announced the entries last month but following Schroder and Alcott's withdrawals, world No. 8 Cotterill and world No. 9 Silva are now among the six players that will vie for the quad singles title.

Hosted by the Tennis Foundation for the fourth successive year, the prestigious event takes place at Loughborough University Tennis Centre for the first time.

NEC has been title sponor of the event since its inception in 1994 and UNIQLO is an international sponsor.

The men's singles entries include four former champions in current world No. 2 Stephane Houdet of France, world No. 6 and two-time former champion Stefan Olsson of Sweden, world No. 7 and reigning champion Joachim Gerard of Belgium, who has won the NEC Masters title for the last two years, and world No. 8 and former three-time champion Shingo Kunieda of Japan.

Eight of the world's top nine players are among the entries for the women's singles after current world No.3 Jiske Griffioen, the NEC Wheelchair Tennis Masters champion for the last two years, announced this week that her playing career has come to an end.

In Griffioen's absence, 2013 winner and current world No 1 Yui Kamiji and 2014 winner Aniek van Koot are the only former champions among this year's entries

Reigning and nine-time champion David Wagner of USA heads this year’s quad singles field of six players.

World No. 2 Andy Lapthorne, world No. 3 Dylan Alcott and world No. 4 Lucas Sithole are all former finalists.

The quad singles entries include Australia's Heath Davidson, who is set to contest the NEC Wheelchair Tennis Masters for the first time. 

Tickets for the 2017 NEC Wheelchair Tennis  Masters are available from www.wheelchairtennismasters.com.

NEC Wheelchair Tennis Masters Entries

Rankings and ranking points totals as at 16 October 2017

Men's Entries

1 FERNANDEZ, Gustavo ARG 4601
2 HOUDET, Stephane FRA 3678
3 HEWETT, Alfie GBR 3642
4 REID, Gordon GBR 3488
5 PEIFER, Nicolas FRA 3120
6 OLSSON, Stefan SWE  2931 
7 GERARD, Joachim BEL 2590
8 KUNIEDA Shingo JPN 2346


Women's Entries

1 KAMIJI, Yui JPN 4730
2 DE GROOT, Diede NED 3545
4 ELLERBROCK, Sabine GER  2462
5 BUIS, Marjolein NED 2421
6 VAN KOOT, Aniek NED 2235
7 SHUKER, Lucy GBR  1753
8 MONTJANE, Kgothatso RSA 1586
9 KRUGER, Katharina GER 1456


Quad Entries

1 WAGNER, David USA 4046
2 LAPTHORNE, Andy GBR 3393
4 SITHOLE, Lucas RSA 2278 
5 DAVIDSON, Heath AUS 2135
8 COTTERILL, Antony   GBR  1207 
9 SILVA, Ymanitu BRA 1002