05 Aug 2016

ITF Pro Circuit meets... Miyu Kato


Text Interview

By Nick Fishpool

Photo: Fred MullaneMiyu Kato (JPN)

Find our more about the 21-year-old's experiences on the ITF Pro Circuit, who her tennis idol is and whose attributes she would use to build a superplayer!



 

ITF Pro Circuit: Can you tell us where were you born and maybe describe the area where you grew up?

Miyu Kato:   I was born in Kyoto, Japan.


Do any other members of your family play sport?

No.


So how did you get started in tennis?

Primary school teacher recommended me it. I was 8 years old. [Attended] tennis school.


Who is your current coach?

Ryuji Ohara


Who is your tennis idol?

Roger Federer


What is your greatest tennis memory either as a player or as a fan?

When I won the WTA Tour doubles [title in Katowice, POL in April 2016]. I was so happy!


Who has been the toughest opponent you have faced on court in an ITF Pro Circuit match?

My doubles partner who is Eri Hozumi


In your opinion, what would you say are the best and worst aspects of being a professional tennis player?

The lifestyle


So far in your career, what has been the nicest ITF Pro Circuit venue that you played at?

Vancouver $100.000


What is the best experience that you had on the ITF Pro Circuit?

I overcame 16 games (single + doubles) in two weeks.


Which player(s) are you friends with?

Eri Hozumi, Nao Hibino, Risa Ozaki, Kurumi Nara and Chang Kai-Chen


How has playing on the ITF Pro Circuit helped you as a player?

[Strive to] do my best and politely.


Looking at other female players (past & present), name the various players whose attributes you would combine to create your own female super player?

Serve: Serena Williams
Forehand: Kim Clijsters
Backhand: Martina Hingis
Volley: Martina Hingis
Speed on court: Simina Halep
Fighting spirit: Dominika Cibulkova
Entertainment: Agnieszka Radwanska


If you could only have one Grand Slam title, which would you choose?

Wimbledon


What has been the best piece of advice you have been given?

Practice is not betrayed.


Do you have a favourite holiday destination?

No


If you had not become a tennis player what career path would you have liked to have followed?

I'll be [a] news anchor.


Have you set yourself any goals for the year?

I have. I win $75.000 [in Gifu during May 2016] and [competing in] WTA's main draw.


Finally, tell us something about yourself that possibly not many people already know?

I like nail and fashion. I like to eat and talk with friends. And like mystery novels.



LATEST NEWS