01 May 2014

Peifer and Famin awarded Roland Garros wild cards

News Article

Photo: Paul ZimmerNicolas Peifer (FRA)

The Fédération Française de Tennis (FFT) has awarded the wild cards for the men's and women's singles and doubles at Roland Garros to Nicolas Peifer and Charlotte Famin of France.

Peifer and Famin therefore complete the field of 16 players for the Roland Garros Wheelchair Tennis Event, a part of the ITF Wheelchair Tennis Tour, which takes place in Paris on 4-6 June 2014.

The top seven ranked men's and women's singles players at the entry deadline of 14 April, plus wild cards Peifer and Famin, will therefore contest the second Grand Slam of the year.

Peifer is currently the world No. 9 ranked men's singles player, having been No. 10 in the ITF Wheelchair Tennis Tour Rakings of 14 April. Peifer will play at Roland Garros for the fifth time, having won the men's doubles and reached the final of the men's singles in 2011 on the most recent of four successive appearances in Paris.

Currently world ranked No. 15, Famin will make her Grand Slam debut at Roland Garros this year, having been world ranked No. 16 in the ITF Wheelchair Tennis Tour Rakings of 14 April.

World No. 1 ranked players Shingo Kunieda of Japan and Sabine Ellerbrock of Germany head the entries for the men's and women's singles.

In the men's field, world No. 2 Stephane Houdet of France is the defending champion after beating Kunieda in the final for the last two years.

Ellerbrock will return to the scene of her maiden Grand Slam title, having beaten Dutchwoman Jiske Griffioen in last year's final to become only the second player to add her name to the women's roll of honour, alongside that of the now-retired Esther Vergeer.

(Figures in brackets denote world ranking at entry cut-off of 14 Aprii)

Men Women
Shingo Kunieda (JPN) (1) Sabine Ellerbrock (GER) (1)
Stephane Houdet (FRA) (2) Yui Kamiji (JPN) (2)
Gordon Reid (GBR) (3) Jiske Griffioen (NED) (3)
Joachim Gerard (BEL) (4) Aniek van Koot (NED) (4)
Gustavo Fernandez (ARG) (5) Jordanne Whley (GBR) (5)
Maikel Scheffers (NED) (6) Marjolein Buis (NED) (6)
Michael Jeremiasz (FRA) (7) Kgothatso Montjane (RSA) (7)
Nicolas Peifer (FRA) (10) (WC) Charlotte Famin (FRA) (16) (WC)