16 Apr 2014

Kunieda and Ellerbrock head Roland Garros entries

News Article

Photo: Paul ZimmerSabine Ellerbrock (GER)

The Fédération Française de Tennis (FFT) has today confirmed the 14 direct entries for the Roland Garros Wheelchair Tennis Event, a part of the ITF Wheelchair Tennis Tour, which takes place in Paris on 4-6 June 2014.

The top seven ranked men's and women's singles players at the entry deadline of 14 April have been named.

One wild card for the men's event and one wild card for the women's event, to bring the full field of wheelchair tennis players for the second Grand Slam of the year to 16, will be announced in due course.

World No. 1 ranked players Shingo Kunieda of Japan and Sabine Ellerbrock of Germany head the entries confirmed today for the men's and women's singles.

In the men's field, world No. 2 Stephane Houdet of France is the defending champion after beating Kunieda in the final for the last two years.

Ellerbrock will return to the scene of her maiden Grand Slam title, having beaten Dutchwoman Jiske Griffioen in last year's final to become only the second player to add her name to the women's roll of honour, alongside that of the now-retired Esther Vergeer.

(Figures in brackets denote world ranking at entry cut-off of 14 Aprii)

Men Women
Shingo Kunieda (JPN) (1) Sabine Ellerbrock (GER) (1)
Stephane Houdet (FRA) (2) Yui Kamiji (JPN) (2)
Gordon Reid (GBR) (3) Jiske Griffioen (NED) (3)
Joachim Gerard (BEL) (4) Aniek van Koot (NED) (4)
Gustavo Fernandez (ARG) (5) Jordanne Whley (GBR) (5)
Maikel Scheffers (NED) (6) Marjolein Buis (NED) (6)
Michael Jeremiasz (FRA) (7) Kgothatso Montjane (RSA) (7)
Wild card to be confirmed Wild card to be confirmed