14 Apr 2014

Stig Ericson receives Brad Parks Award

News Article

Stig Ericson (SWE) receives the Brad Parks Award from ITF Wheelchair Tennis Committee Member Christo Kok

Stig Ericson of Sweden has received the Brad Parks Award for 2014 at the Annual Meeting of the Swedish Tennis Association in Båstad.

The presentation was made my ITF Wheelchair Tennis Committee Member Christo Kok on behalf of ITF President Francesco Ricci Bitti.

The Brad Parks Award is presented annually by the International Tennis Federation to an individual or organisation that has made a significant contribution to wheelchair tennis on an international basis.

Ericson has played a major role in the development of wheelchair tennis in his home nation of Sweden as an administrator, coach and ambassador for the sport. He was involved in the early years of the sport internationally and his tennis background and experience provided considerable insight to help the development of the sport around the world.

Ericson was a member of the International Wheelchair Tennis Federation (IWTF) and International Wheelchair Tennis Association (IWTA) committees from 1991, serving as Vice President of the IWTA and a member of the ITF Wheelchair Tennis Committee from 1998 to 2009 after wheelchair tennis was fully integrated into the ITF on 1 January 1998.

Since 1974 Ericson also been a member of numerous committees and organisations in the Swedish Tennis Association and has been instrumental in developing and representing wheelchair in the Swedish Tennis Association.

Ericson is greatly respected by players, administrators and colleagues alike for his outstanding contribution to the sport and was instrumental in Stockholm becoming the host city of the 2007 World Team Cup. He had previously been the tournament director of the Båstad Open between 1992 and 1993, the referee of the Swedish Open between 1995 and 1999 and was Chairman of the World Team Cup Committee from 1994-2002.

“Stig Ericson has played a major role in the development of wheelchair tennis not only in Sweden but around the world,” said ITF President Francesco Ricci Bitti.

“His outstanding contributions for many years both on a professional and personal level and his role in the sport through the IWTF and IWTA as Vice President along with your long service meant the Board had no hesitation in granting this award. We are indebted to Stig for your dedication to the advancement of wheelchair tennis.”

“I am so glad Stig will receive the Brad Parks Award this year; there is no one more deserving,” said Brad Parks, the founder of wheelchair tennis in 1976, after whom the prestigious award is named. 

“It has been a privilege knowing Stig over the years and I greatly appreciate all he has contributed to the sport; wheelchair tennis is better because of him. I had so much fun seeing him in London at the Paralympics and was so glad he was there.”

Ericsson was one of 13 recipients of the Services to the Game approved at the 2011 ITF AGM in Bangkok, Thailand and received his award at the Swedish Tennis Association's Annual General Meeting in April 2012. Also in 2012 he was a member of the ITF Jury of Appeal at the London 2012 Paralympics Games.