31 Mar 2014

Jacques Dupré re-elected as Tennis Europe President

News Article

Tennis Europe Board 2014-2017

The 40th Tennis Europe Annual General Meeting has concluded with Jacques Dupré re-elected to serve a third consecutive term as President of the organisation.

Mr. Dupré was unopposed in the presidential election and received the overwhelming endorsement of the assembly, which consisted of 95 delegates representing 38 of the 49 member nations of the International Tennis Federation’s largest regional association.

The Meeting, which was held in Sofia from 28-29 March and hosted by the Bulgarian Tennis Federation, also saw elections to the Board of Management, who will serve until 2017. The new Board is as follows:

Jacques Dupré (FRA, President)
Martin Corrie (GBR)
Igor del Busto (ESP)
Luisanna Fodde (ITA)
Günther Lang (GER)*
Attila Richter (HUN)
Aleksei Selivanenko (RUS)*
Stefan Tzvetkov (BUL)*
Karin van Bijsterveld (NED)*
Olli Mäenpää (Tennis Europe Chief Executive Officer)**

*=re-elected. **=non-voting member

Three retiring Board members were rewarded for their contributions to Tennis Europe. Michele Brunetti (ITA) will henceforth be an Honorary Life Vice-President, while Philios Christodoulou (CYP) and Peter Bretherton (GBR) are Honorary Life Counsellors to the organisation. 

Other constitutional matters saw Hungary promoted to ‘B’-nation status, while an application for affiliated membership from the Tennis Federation of Kosovo narrowly failed to receive the necessary two-thirds majority vote from the assembled nations.

Mr. Dupré said, “I am truly very honoured to receive this renewed endorsement from my friends and colleagues in the European tennis family. During the Meeting we have unveiled plans for a variety of new projects and I am eager to commence work on my third term alongside the new Board members. I’d like to extend my sincere thanks to the departing members of the Board, and also to Stefan Tzvetkov and the staff of the Bulgarian Tennis Federation for all of their hard work and hospitality over the past few days.”

Prior to the meeting the Board of Management, accompanied by ITF Francesco Ricci Bitti, met with Bulgaria’s President Rosen Plevneliev and Prime Minister Plamen Oresharski.

In accordance with tradition, Saturday’s official dinner at the Central Military Club was the scene of the presentation of the Tennis Europe Awards, which are nominated by member nations in recognition of outstanding contributions to the sport and its administration. There were ten recipients in total; Natalia Zvereva (BLR), Maria Chakarova (BUL), Lali Zerekidze (GEO), Peter Norfolk (GBR), Juris Savickis (LAT), Radu Albot (MDA), Dimitrije Rasovic (MNE), Esther Vergeer (NED), Vladimir Tolkatsyr (RUS) and Andrei Medvedev (UKR).

The official dinner also saw the European Tennis Trophy awards presented to 2013 winners Netherlands (Wheelchair Tennis), Germany (Seniors Tennis), Czech Republic (Professional Tennis) and Russia (Junior Tennis and Overall Performance). Special recognitions were also made to Serbia (Best-Performing ‘C’-Nation) and Romania (Best-Performing ‘B’-Nation and Greatest Improvement).

Tennis Europe confirmed during the meeting that next year’s AGM will be hosted by Swiss Tennis in Lausanne.