03 Jan 2014

Walraven replaces van Koot in Australian Open field

News Article

Photo: Paul ZimmerSharon Walraven (NED)

World No. 9 Sharon Walraven of Netherlands will take the wildcard spot for the women's singles at the Optus Australian Open Wheelchair Tennis Championships 2014 after the the withdrawal of her fellow Dutchwoman, world No. 1 and defending champion Aniek van Koot of Netherlands.

ITF World Champion van Koot, who won her first Grand Slam singles title at Melbourne Park in 2013, has withdrawn from the first major of 2014 as the US Open champion continues to recover from the tendonitis that kept her out of the NEC Wheelchair Tennis Masters in California in November.

Walraven, a two-time Australian Open doubles champion in 2011 and 2012, also played in the 2013 NEC Masters after van Koot announced her withdrawal from the event.

The Australian Open Wheelchair Tennis Championships takes place at Melbourne Park on 22-25 January, featuring 20 players comprising the top seven ranked men’s and women’s players and the top three ranked quad players as of the entry cut-off date, as well as one wildcard in each draw.

Australia's Ben Weekes and Adam Kellerman will go head-to-head in a one-match showdown at Melbourne Park on Monday, 20 January to decide who wins the men’s wildcard.

(Figures in brackets denote world ranking at cut-off date)

Men Women
Shingo Kunieda (JPN) (1) Sabine Ellerbrock (GER) (2)
Stephane Houdet (FRA) (2) Yui Kamiji (JPN) (3)
Joachim Gerard (BEL) (3) Jiske Griffioen (NED) (4)
Gordon Reid (GBR) (4) Marjolein Buis (NED) (5)
Maikel Scheffers (NED) (5) Kgothatso Montjane (RSA) (6)
Gustavo Fernandez (ARG) (6) Jordanne Whiley (GBR) (7)
Michael Jeremiasz (FRA) (7) Lucy Shuker (GBR) (8)
Wildcard TBC Sharon Walraven (NED) (9) (WC)


David Wagner (USA) (1)
Lucas Sithole (RSA) (2)
Andy Lapthorne (GBR) (3)
Dylan Alcott (AUS) (WC)