Error loading userControl '~//ITF/Web/UserControls/Olympics/SiteSettings.ascx'
Error loading userControl '~//ITF/Web/UserControls/Olympics/HeaderTopNavigation.ascx'
Error loading userControl '~//ITF/Web/UserControls/Olympics/SideNavigation.ascx'

10 Sep 2013

Bach elected new IOC President

News Article

Photo: IOCThomas Bach - President of the International Olympic Committee

Thomas Bach of Germany was elected the ninth President of the International Olympic Committee following two rounds of votes at the 125th IOC Session in Buenos Aires, Argentina on Tuesday.
Bach was chosen over fellow presidential candidates Sergey Bubka (Ukraine), Richard Carrion (Puerto Rico), Ser Miang Ng (Singapore), Denis Oswald (Switzerland) and Ching-kuo Wu (Chinese Taipei).
“Thank you very much to all of you,” said Bach following his election. “Let us, this great universal orchestra of IOC members, play together in harmony towards a bright future for the Olympic Movement under the leadership of the IOC.”
The new President replaces Jacques Rogge, whose 12-year tenure officially ends at the close of the 125th IOC Session. The President is elected by the IOC members by secret ballot for a term of eight years, with the possibility to stand for re-election for a second, four-year term.
ITF President Francesco Ricci Bitti said: “On behalf of the International Tennis Federation, I want to congratulate Thomas Bach of Germany on his election as the ninth President of the International Olympic Committee.
"A gold medal winning fencer at the 1976 Olympics, Thomas has wide ranging experience in the Olympic movement as President of the German Olympic Committee, Vice President and member of the Executive Board of the IOC, and President of the Arbitration and Appeals Division of the Court of Arbitration for Sport.
He will have the full confidence of all of the components that make up the Olympic Movement, including but not limited to International Federations, National Olympic Committees, Athletes and Organising Committees, and this will be important as the IOC faces challenging times. The ITF looks forward to working with Thomas and to giving him our support as we approach Rio 2016 and, now, Tokyo 2020.
“We have been fortunate for the last eight years to work closely with the outgoing IOC President Jacques Rogge and we wish him only the best for his retirement. Like his predecessor, Juan Antonio Samaranch, Jacques has been a friend to tennis and we have appreciated all the help and counsel he has given us over the years to help us grow our sport in the Olympic Games.
"During his Presidency, one of his great achievements was to pioneer the fight for integrity in sport. His great legacy will include the forming of the Youth Olympic Games which proved to be hugely successful, even in its first outing. We join the rest of the Olympic Movement in thanking Jacques Rogge for his excellent stewardship as IOC President and we certainly will miss him.” 
Voting Results
Round 1: Thomas Bach: 43; Sergey Bubka: 8; Richard Carrion: 23; Ser Miang Ng: 6; Denis Oswald: 7; Ching-kuo Wu: 6
Round 1 tie-break: Ser Miang Ng: 56; Ching-kuo Wu: 36
Round 2: Thomas Bach: 49; Sergey Bubka: 4; Richard Carrion: 29; Ser Miang Ng: 6; Denis Oswald: 5




Error loading userControl '~//ITF/Web/UserControls/Olympics/Footer.ascx'