14 Jun 2013

Seeds start to bow out at Czech Open

Match Report

Photo: Ivan VyvadilMirolsav Brychta (CZE)

Seeded players started to exit the VINCI Czech Open, part of the NEC Wheelchair Tennis Tour, on the second day of play in Prostejov.

Dutchwoman Michaela Spaanstra-de Vos again hit the headlines for the second day in a row in the women’s singles, while Miroslav Brychta gave the home fans something to cheer in the men’s singles as he and Australia’s Adam Kellerman both came through tough matches.

Spaanstra-de Vos, who is playing in only her third NEC Wheelchair Tennis Tour event this week, beat German second seed Bianca Osterer 64 75 to reach her first ITF 2 Series semifinal after having previously played two ITF 3 Series tournaments.

The Dutch player, who had previous tennis experience before needing surgery on a tumour in 2010, will now play French third seed Christine Schoenn after Schoenn’s 61 61 win over Switzerland’s Simona Rusnak.

In the top half of the women’s draw, top seed Katharina Kruger and Polish Open champion Emmy Kaiser, who is bidding for her third successive NEC Tour title this week, both secured 60, 61 victories over Ukraine’s Olena Shyngaryova and Poland’s Lucyna Mietrkiewicz respectively.  

Brychta joined the remaining seven seeded players in the men’s singles quarterfinals after edging out eighth seed Laszlo Farkas of Hungary 76(5) 36 75. Brychta will now face second seed Martin Legner.

But the closest finish of the day ended in victory for fifth seed Adam Kellerman after the Australian narrowly held off Kamil Fabisiak in a final set tiebreak, eventually prevailing 46 61 76(6) to earn a quarterfinal against French top seed Frederic Cattaneo. Cattaneo beat Austria’s Joseph Riegler 62 62 as he opened his bid to add to the Polish Open title he won last week.

Third seed Tadeusz Kruszzelnicki and seventh seed Piotr Jaroszewski will also meet in the quarterfinals to decide which of them will take Polish hopes into the semifinals, while British fourth seed Marc McCarroll plays sixth seed Steffen Sommerfeld of Germany.