25 Jan 2013

Wagner, Lapthorne into quad singles final

Match Report

Photo: Paul ZimmerDavid Wagner (USA)

David Wagner of USA and Andy Lapthorne of Great Britain booked their places in Saturday’s quad singles final on the penultimate day of the Australian Open Wheelchair Championships, the first Grand Slam of the year on the NEC Wheelchair Tennis Tour, while Wagner added the quad doubles crown as all three doubles titles were decided.

Michael Jeremiasz and Shingo Kunieda clinched the men’s doubles title, while top seeds Jiske Griffioen and Aniek van Koot also won their first Australian Open women’s doubles title.

Wagner and Lapthorne into quad singles final

World No. 1 Wagner needed just 42 minutes to end the round-robin phase of the competition unbeaten in three matches after beating his fellow American and doubles partner Nick Taylor 60 61.

Lapthorne had a much tougher passage to the final after having to come from behind to beat Anders Hard of Sweden.

Hard beat Lapthorne at both the Eton Manor International, the Test Event for the London 2012 Paralympics, and at the London Games before Lapthorne beat Hard at the year-end NEC Wheelchair Tennis Master. As the two players met again on another major stage Lapthorne eventually edged to a 46 63 63 victory.

He will now face 2011 Australian Open champion Wagner for the second time this week after the American won the round-robin match between the two players.

Jeremiasz and Kunieda win men’s doubles

Jeremiasz completed the set of all four men’s doubles titles at the Grand Slam tournaments when the Frenchman partnered Japan's Shingo Kunieda to win their first Australian Open together. The second seeds recorded a comfortable victory over surprise finalists Adam Kellerman of Australia and Stefan Olsson of Sweden.

Kunieda made it six Australian Open doubles titles after he added to the sequence of successive titles he won from 2006-2011 when he and Kunieda eased past Kellerman and Olsson 60 61 in 45 minutes. Playing their fourth tournament together, Jeremiasz and Kunieda won their second title in Australia, having previously won the Sydney International Open in 2007.

2012 runners-up win women’s doubles

In the women’s doubles final Dutch top seeds Jiske Griffioen and Aniek van Koot went one better than in 2012 as they clinched their first Australian Open title with a 64 63 win over second seeds Marjoelin Buis of the Netherlands and Britain’s Lucy Shuker.

After having their serve broken by Buis and Shuker in a long seventh game, Griffioen and van Koot clinched the last three games of the opening set.

The 2012 Wimbledon champions also took the first two games of the second set, but Buis and Shuker, playing just their second tournament together, battled back to level the set at 3-3. However, Griffioen and van Koot’s greater experience finally told as they wrapped up victory. 

Taylor and Wagner regain quad doubles title

Three-time Paralympic quad doubles gold medallists Taylor and Wagner regained the Australian Open title they last won in 2010.  Taylor and Wagner broke first-time doubles pairing Hard and Lapthorne to move 3-1 ahead en route to taking the first set.

Lapthorne and Hard broke Taylor and Wagner in the first game of the second set and came back from game points down to level the set at 2-2. But Taylor and Wagner’s vast experience as partners provided decisive and after Hard and Lapthorne missed out on an opportunity to pull a game back and make it 5-4 Taylor and Wagner wasted little more time in completing a 6-2, 6-3 victory.

Order of Play - Saturday, 26 January 2013

Men's Singles Draw

Women's Singles Draw

Quad Singles Draw

Men's Doubles Draw

Women's Doubles Draw

Quad Doubles Draw