15 Feb 2012

Jeremiasz and van Koot voted Players of the Year for 2011

News Article

Photo: Philippe BuissinAniek van Koot (NED)

The ITF announces that Michael Jeremiasz of France and Aniek van Koot of the Netherlands have been named Male Player of the Year and Female Player of the Year on the NEC Wheelchair Tennis Tour for 2011 after being nominated by their peers and fans of wheelchair tennis.

While Jeremiasz wins the Male Player of the Year Award for the third time and van Koot wins the Female Player of the Year Award for the second time, the British Open is also named Tournament of the Year for the second time after winning the inaugural award for 2001.

For the first time, the top three players and top three tournaments nominated by email to the ITF Wheelchair Tennis Department were put to a final public vote in three separate polls on the ‘ITF Wheelchair Tennis Tour’ Facebook page. Dutchman Maikel Scheffers, who ended 2011 as ITF World Champion for the first time, finished the initial poll for Male Player of the Year level on votes with Jeremiasz, but the Frenchman won finished ahead in a subsequent poll to find the outright winner.

Michael Jeremiasz

Jeremiasz, voted Male Player if the Year for 2004 and 2005, dropped out of the world’s top 10 in 2010 for the first time since November 2002 and started 2011 world ranked No. 36.  But, after recovering from injury and subsequent surgery, the ever-popular Frenchman worked his way back to full fitness in 2011, improving his world ranking back to No. 12.

Aniek van Koot

After begin voted Female Player of the Year for 2008, van Koot wins the award for the second time to add to a highly successful 2011 on court, during which she won her first Super Series title at the BNP Paribas French Open, reached the final of the NEC Wheelchair Tennis Masters for the first time and finished the season at her career best women’s singles world ranking of No. 2.

British Open

The British Open Wheelchair Tennis Championships, organised by the Tennis Foundation, continues to demonstrate high levels of organisation and promotion under the leadership of Tournament Director Becky Tilley and her dedicated team of staff and volunteers. The ITF Super Series event at Nottingham Tennis Centre celebrated its 22nd year in 2011 and remains among the highest quality events on the NEC Wheelchair Tennis Tour and one of the most popular with players from around the world.

The Player of the Year Awards are presented once a year to a male and female player on the NEC Wheelchair Tennis Tour, who are acknowledged because of his/her fairplay, sportsmanship, on court/off court behaviour, ability to make international friendships, support to other players and his/her contribution towards the development of wheelchair tennis on a national/international level.

The Tournament of the Year award is presented once a year to a tournament on the NEC Wheelchair Tennis Tour, which is acknowledged because of the contribution towards the development of wheelchair tennis at national/international level, the quality of organisation (includes all organisational aspects, such as officiating, transportation, hotel etc.), additional events organised during the event to entertain players and coaches and the promotion of the event and wheelchair tennis in general.