ITF Junior Masters

ITF Junior Masters logoThe 2017 ITF Junior Masters took place at the Sichuan International Tennis Center in Chengdu, China on 25-29 October.

Starting in 2017, the competition is fully incorporated into the 18-and-under ITF Junior Circuit, and offers junior world ranking points that will help determine the year-end No. 1 ranking. The boys' and girls' singles events consist of two round-robin groups of four players, with the top two players in each group qualifying for the semifinals.

Road to Chengdu
The qualification period for the 2018 competition runs from 11 September 2017 until 10 September 2018, with the ITF Junior World Ranking of 10 September 2018 used to determine entries. The event is open to all players born in 2000 or later. 

The participants will be awarded travel grants based on the final finishing position ranging from $7,000 to $15,000. 

The 2017 champions were Emil Ruusuvuori of Finland and Marta Kostyuk of the Ukraine.

Russia’s Andrey Rublev and Shilin Xu of China won the inaugural competition in 2015, while Seong Chan Hong of Korea and Anna Blinkova of Russia were victorious in 2016. Rublev is currently ranked inside the top 50, while Rublev, Ruusuvuori, Blinkova and Hong have already represented their country in Davis Cup or Fed Cup.

The following players contested the 2017 ITF Junior Masters:

Girls’ singles

Whitney Osuigwe (USA)
Marta Kostyuk (UKR)
Elena Rybakina (RUS)
Kaja Juvan (SLO)
Sofia Sewing (USA)
Xin Yu Wang (CHN)
Maria Lourdes Carle (ARG)
Maria Camila Osorio Serrano (COL) 

Boys’ singles

Yibing Wu (CHN)
Axel Geller (ARG)
Yu Hsiou Hsu (TPE)
Jurij Rodionov (AUT)
Marko Miladinovic (SRB)
Sebastian Baez (ARG)
Trent Bryde (USA)
Emil Ruusuvuori (FIN)