Australian Open

Australian Open logo

21 - 28 January 2017

Melbourne Park
Melbourne, Australia

Outdoor hard (Plexicushion Prestige)

Main stadiums
Rod Laver Arena - 14,820 capacity
Hisense Arena - 11,000 capacity

Official website



Early days

The Junior Australian Open is the oldest of the Grand Slam junior draws having established a boys' competition in 1922. At this stage it wasn't designated as one of the majors and only reached this staus two years later in 1924. A girls' draw was further added in 1930. The competition became known as the Australian Championships in 1927 and then finally the Australian Open in 1969.

The early years of the junior competition were dominated by the host nation with the first non-Australian winner in either draw occuring in 1954 when Billy Knight from Great Britain took the boys' title. Australia, however, continue to have some success in the competition most recently with Oliver Anderson in 2016.


The original venue was the Warehouseman’s Cricket Ground in Melbourne. The tournament went on to be held in numerous cities around Australia and New Zealand before it permanently settled in Melbourne in 1972, first at Kooyong LTC and then at the purpose built Flinders Park, now known as Melbourne Park, where it remains today.

Melbourne Park began staging the Australian Open in 1988. It was constructed to meet the demands of a tournament that had outgrown Kooyong's limited capacity, and the move was an immediate success with a 90 per cent increase in attendance the first year. The three main courts are Rod Laver Arena, Margaret Court Arena and Hisense Arena, all of which have retractable roofs.

Past Winners

A number of Australia's greatest players have won the Junior Australian Open including Ken Rosewall (1950,1952) while Pat Cash was a runner-up in 1981 and Todd Woodbridge made the final in 1987 and 1989 only to lose out at the last hurdle. Victoria Azarenka is the latest player to have made the step from winning the event at the junior level in 2005 before storming the women's draw in 2012 to take her maiden Grand Slam title, before defending it in 2013.