Osaka Mayor's Cup

Ayumi Moria (JPN) and Caroline Wozniacki (DEN)Dates
16 - 22 October 2017

Utsubo Tennis Center
Osaka, Japan

Outdoor Hard (Decoturf)

Official website


Super Juniors

The World Super Junior Championships were first held in Japan in 1993 and were immediately given Grade A status. The tournament was held at Ebara Shonan Sports Center in Fijisawa with Marcelo Rios from Chile and local girl Hiroko Mochizuki winning the singles titles.

The tournament was moved to its current location in Osaka at the Utsubo Tennis Centre in 1996 and was renamed the Osaka Mayor's Cup in 2001. The tournament has proved to be an excellent place for talent-spotting in recent years with Marcos Baghdatis and Caroline Wozniaki (pictured above) both winning the title on two occassions while Viktoria Azarenka and Marin Cilic also added their names to the tournaments Roll of Honour in the last ten years.

Past singles champions (boys/girls)

2016       Y. Watanuki (JPN)                                               A. Potapova (RUS)
2015       C. Ruud (NOR)                                                    M. Hontama (JPN)
2014       T. Fritz (USA)                                                      S. Xu (CHN)
2013       M. Mmoh (USA)                                                   I. Jorovic (SRB)
2012       N. Kyrgios (AUS)                                                 K. Siniakova (CZE)
2011       J. Vesely (CZE)                                                    Z. Maciejewska (POL)
2010       Y. Uchiyama (JPN)                                              S. Zheng (CHN)
2009       J. Kubler (AUS)                                                    K. Mladenovic (FRA)
2008       Y. Bhambri (IND)                                                 A. Bogdan (ROM)
2007       R. Harrison (USA)                                                K. Nara (JPN)
2006       Y. Sugita (JPN)                                                     C. Wozniacki (DEN)
2005       M. Cilic (CRO)                                                      V. Azarenka (BLR)
2004       W-S. Jun (KOR)                                                    C. Wozniacki (DEN)
2003       M. Baghdatis (CYP)                                             V. Chvojkova (CZE)
2002       G. Balazs (HUN)                                                  R. Fuda (JPN)
2001       M. Baghdatis (CYP)                                             E. Birnerova (CZE)
2000       J. Johansson (SWE)                                           R. Voracova (CZE)
1999       K. Pless (DEN)                                                     D. Bedanova (CZE)
1998       K. Pless (DEN)                                                     J. Dokic (AUS)
1997       A. Di Pasquale (FRA)                                          K. Srebotnik (SLO)
1996       S. Grosjean (FRA)                                               A. Mauresmo (FRA)
1995       M. Lee (GBR)                                                        H. Inoue (JPN)
1994       T. Suzuki (JPN)                                                    M-R. Jeon (KOR)
1993       M. Rios (CHI)                                                        H. Mochizuki (JPN)