Orange Bowl

Dunlop Orange BowlDates
4-10 December 2017

Frank Veltri Tennis Centre
Plantation, Florida, USA

Outdoor Clay

Official website



The Orange Bowl tournament was founded in 1947 by Eddie Herr. When his daughter Suzanne began playing as a junior, Herr discovered there were few tournaments in the Miami area. He decided to launch the Orange Bowl event at the nearby public clay courts at Flamingo Park, where it stayed for 51 years.

Whilst the early years of the competition were dominated by players from the USA from the late 1950s onwards a more global feel began to develop with the tournament being seen as increasingly significent and the top juniors travelling to play. Over the years, winners have come from more than 20 nations.

The Orange Bowl was added to the list of Grade A tournaments in 1978.

The list of champions includes Bjorn Borg, Jim Courier, Elena Dementieva, Chris Evert, Roger Federer, Mary Joe Fernandez, Ivan Lendl, John McEnroe, Andy Roddick and Gabriela Sabatini.

2012 marked the 66th year of the competition and also saw the tournament return to clay courts for the first time since 1998 in which time it has been held on the hard courts of Crandon Tennis Park (home of the combined ATP/WTA Key Biscayne event). The new venue is the Frank Veltri Tennis Center in Plantation, Florida.

Past Winners

2016       M. Kecmanovic (SRB)                           K. Juvan (SLO)
2015       M. Kecmanovic (SRB)                          B. Andreescu (CAN)
2014       S. Kozlov (USA)                                  S. Kenin (USA)
2013       F. Tiafoe (USA)                                   V. Flink (RUS)
2012       L. Djere (SRB)                                     A. Konjuh (CRO)
2011       D. Thiem (AUT)                                    A. Kontaveit (EST)
2010       G. Morgan (GBR)                                 L. Davis (USA)
2009       G. Mina (FRA)                                       G. Dabrowski (CAN)
2008       Y. Bhambri (IND)                                 J. Boserup (USA)
2007       R. Berankis (LTU)                                M. Lacher de Brito (POR)
2006       A. Luncanu (ROM)                               N. Hofmanova (AUT)
2005       R. Roshardt (SUI)                                C. Wozniacki (DEN)
2004       T. Neilly (USA)                                      J. Kirkland (USA)
2003       M. Baghdatis (CYP)                             N. Vaidisova (CZE)
2002       B. Baker (USA)                                     V. Douchevina (RUS)
2001       R. Soderling (SWE)                             V. Zvonereva (RUS)
2000       T. Enev (BUL)                                       V. Zvonereva (RUS)
1999       A. Roddick (USA)                                 M. Martinez (ESP)
1998       R. Federer (SUI)                                   E. Dementieva (RUS)
1997       N. Massu (CHI)                                    T. Pisnik (SLO)
1996       A. Martin (ESP)                                     A. Alcazar (ESP)
1995       M. Zabaleta (ARG)                               A. Kournikova (RUS)
1994       N. Lapentti (ECU)                                M. Ramon (ESP)
1993       A. Costa (ESP)                                     A. Montolio (ESP)
1992       V. Spadea (USA)                                 B. Mulej (SLO)
1991       M. Charpentier (ARG)                         E. Likhovtseva (URS)
1990       A. Medvedev (RUS)                             P. Perez (ESP)
1989       F. Meligeni (BRA)                                L. Spadea (USA)
1988       M. Rosset (SUI)                                   C. Cunningham (USA)
1987       J. Courier (USA)                                  N. Zvereva (RUS)
1986       J. Sanchez (ESP)                                P. Tarabini (ARG)
1985       C. Pistolesi (ITA)                                 M.J. Fernandez (USA)
1984       R. Brown (USA)                                   G. Sabatini (ARG)
1983       K. Carlsson (SWE)                              D. Spence (USA)
1982       G. Forget (FRA)                                   C. Bassett (CAN)
1981       R. Arguello (ARG)                                P. Barg (USA)
1980       J. Nystroem (SWE)                             S. Mascarin (USA)
1979       R. Viver (ECU)                                     K. Horvath (USA)
1978       G. Urpi (ESP)                                       A. Jaeger (USA)