ITF World Junior Tennis

Boys' champions - RussiaFinals Dates
4 - 9 August 2014

Finals Venue
TK Plus Centre
Prostejov, Czech Republic

Reigning Champions
Boys' Competition: Russia (pictured right)
Girls' Competition: USA

2013 Competition

The ITF World Junior Tennis Finals took place from 5-10 August  2013 in Prostejov, Czech Republic.

Russia boys claimed their maiden title with victory over the USA in the final.  The girls' title was won by the USA for the 6th time when they defeated Russia 2-0 in the final.

The full draws can be found here.

2012 Competition

USA captured the boys' title with a 2-0 win over Korea. The girls' title was claimed by Slovak Republic who defeated Great Britain in the deciding doubles.


The ITF World Junior Tennis competition was started by the ITF in 1991. In the inaugural year, 12 nations were nominated to take part with Spain boys and Czechoslovakia girls emerging the overall winners.

The format changed in 1992 when regional qualifying events were introduced, a system that is still used today with the top teams reaching the Finals.

The Finals were held in Japan until 1998, but the following year they were moved to the clay court venue of TK Plus Centre in Prostejov, Czech Republic. This venue continues to be used today.

A number of the past participants have gone on to become household names on the ATP and WTA tours. Former winners in the boys' event include Rafael Nadal, Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, David Nalbandian and Richard Gasquet, while Justine Henin, Kim Clijsters, Amelie Mauresmo, Daniela Hantuchova and Vera Zvonareva have all appeared in the girls' event.


In order to reach the Finals every nation, with the exception of the host nation, must win through regional qualifying. There are five qualification zones: Africa, North/Central America, South America, Europe and Asia/Oceania. In the larger zones there are two rounds of qualification to progress through to the Final.

The 16 boys' and girls' teams in the final are drawn into four round-robin groups before the top teams in each group progress to the semi-finals where a knock-out competition decides the champions.

Full details of the format and other details can be found on the Rules and Regulations page.


  • The American girls' team of Claire Liu, Catherine Bellis and Michaela Gordon Philipp Klimov and Artem Dubrivnyy (RUS)
  • Artem Dubrivnyy (RUS) Artem Dubrivnyy (RUS)
  • Artem Dubrivnyy (RUS) Catherine Bellis (USA) with captain Richard Ashby
  • Catherine Bellis (USA) Catherine  Bellis (USA)
  • Charlotte Robillard-Millette (CAN) Team USA
  • Patrick Kypson (USA) Boys' champions - Russia