29 Jul 2013

Italy dealt testing draw for Europe pre-qualifying

News Article

Photo: Srdjan StevanovicItaly at the 2012 Junior Davis Cup by BNP Paribas Final

The Junior Team competition takes centre stage this week as Junior Davis Cup and Junior Fed Cup by BNP Paribas pre-qualifying events are held across Europe on 31 July - 2 August, with last year’s boys’ champion Italy and girls’ finalist Russia both handed testing opening draws.

Italy, who reached the Junior Davis Cup Final for the last two years running and won the title in 2012, has been drawn in the same group as 2011 champions Great Britain at home in Trani, while Croatia, runners-up all the way back in 1998 and 1999, also contest Zone A.

Russia, who lost last year’s Junior Fed Cup Final 3-0 to the USA, has been drawn in the same group as Belarus having lost to the Belarusians 2-1 in the 2006 final.

In all, seven different locations will host European pre-qualifying events with 31 different nations participating across the boy’s event, known as the Borotra Cup, and the girls’ event, the Helvetie Cup. They are all bidding to earn a place in the Europe Final qualifying event, which takes place in Le Toquet, France (boys) and Leysin, Switzerland (girls) the following week, with the ultimate aim of winning a place at the Junior Davis Cup/Fed Cup Finals in San Luis Potosi, Mexico on 24-29 September.

Both the Borotra Cup and the Helvetie Cup will comprise of four separate zones across four different venues, with the top two nations from each zone progressing to Final qualifying.

Turkish capital Ankara is the only venue to host both a boys’ and a girls’ event. Trani (Italy), St Petersburg (Russia) and Vinaros (Spain) are the other locations for the Borotra Cup while Rakovnik (Czech Republic), Hatfield (Great Britain), Curtea de Arges (Romania) are the other venues to host the Helvetie Cup.

Andorra and Norway, competing in the boys’ event, are the only two nations of the 31 involved who are not also competing in the girls’ event.

A full breakdown of the nations participating in Europe pre-qualifying is shown below.


Zone A - Trani (ITA)
Bulgaria, Croatia, Great Britain, Italy, Israel, Norway, Poland, Switzerland

Zone B - St. Petersburg (RUS)
Austria, Estonia, France, Greece, Hungary, Moldova, Russia

Zone C - Vinaros (ESP)
Andorra, Belarus, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Czech Republic, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Spain

Zone D - Ankara (TUR)
Denmark, Germany, Netherlands, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Sweden, Turkey, Ukraine


Zone A - Rakovnik (CZE)
Czech Republic, Denmark, Israel, Italy, Poland, Serbia, Slovak Republic

Zone B - Hatfield (GBR)
Austria, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Estonia, Germany, Great Britain, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland

Zone C - Curtea de Arges (ROU)
Bulgaria, Croatia, France, Hungary, Moldova, Netherlands, Romania

Zone D - Ankara (TUR)
Belarus, Greece, Portugal, Russia, Spain, Turkey, Ukraine