World Group action starts in


25 February 2014

Iran to stage Asia/Oceania zone group events


Group III Asia/Ocenia event in Tehran, Iran

Iran will stage the 2014 Davis Cup by BNP Paribas Asia/Oceania Zone Group III and IV events at the Enghelab Sport Complex in Tehran during the week of 9 June. A total of 19 nations will take part in the two groups that will be held outdoors on red clay.

Iran is one of eight nations contesting Asia/Oceania Zone Group III alongside Cambodia, Lebanon, Malaysia, Singapore, Syria, Turkmenistan and UAE. The teams will initially be split into two round-robin pools, with play-offs determing which two teams are promoted to 2015 Group II and which two teams are relegated to Group IV.

The 11 teams contesting Asia/Oceania Zone Group IV are Bahrain, Bangladesh, Iraq, Jordan, Kyrgyzstan, Mongolia, Myanmar, Oman, Pacific Oceania, Qatar and Saudi Arabia. Teams will be split into one pool of six teams and one pool of five teams, with play-offs determing the two teams that are promoted to 2015 Group III.

The Enghelab Sport Complex has staged several Davis Cup events in the past, but it is the first time the stadium has hosted two group events at the same time.

Related content


© ITF Licensing (UK) Ltd. All rights reserved. No portion of this website may be duplicated, redistributed, or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by our Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions.