Fed Cup Final starts in



07 January 2014

Wozniacki to contest Europe/Africa Zone Group III


Photo: Nir KeidarCaroline Wozniacki (DEN)

The nominations have been announced for the Europe/Africa Zone Group III event which takes place in Tallinn, Estonia beginning on 5 February 2014.

Former world No. 1 Caroline Wozniacki headlines the list of nominations and will be aiming to help Denmark achieve promotion having fallen to the lowest rung of the competition in recent years.

Hosts Estonia have welcomed back their top two players, Kaia Kanepi and Anett Kontaveit, after the pair were absent during their relegation from Zone Group II last year.

Kanepi has featured in 30 previous ties for her nation but this will be her first appearance since a defeat at the hands of Spain in the World Group II quarterfinals in 2011.

Two nations are making a return to the competition having not competed in recent years. Botswana have not played since 2006 while Iceland are back for the first time since 2009 having won only once in their 38 ties.

The draw for the event will take place on Monday 13 January at the ITF offices in London.

A full list of nominations can be found below.

Lusine Chobanyan
Mariam Bayatyan
Ani Amiraghyan
Ani Safaryan
Captain: Gayane Movsisyan

Maria Siopacha
Eliza Omirou
Maria Stylianou
Atlanta Patsali
Captain: Nikolas Konstantinou

Caroline Wozniacki
Karen Barbat
Mai Grage
Emilie Francati
Captain: Kenneth Carlsen

Kaia Kanepi
Anett Kontaveit
Eva Paalma
Tatjana Vorobjova
Captain: Maret Ani

Eleni Daniilidou
Despina Papamichail
Maria Sakkari
Velentini Grammatikopoulou
Captain: Stavros Michalopoulos

Hjordis Rosa Gudmundsdot
Anna Soffia Gronholm
Hera Brynjarsdottir
Playing Captain: Sandra Kristjansdottir

Amy Bowtell
Rachael Dillon
Jane Fennelly
Julie Byrne
Captain: Yvonne Doyle

Zarah Razafimahatratra
Sandra Andriamarosoa
Nantenaina Ramalalaharivololona
Niriantsa Rasolomalala
Captain: Natacha Randriantefy

Katrina Sammut
Elaine Genovese
Rosanne Dimech
Maria Giorgia Farrugia Sacco
Captain: Helen Asciak

Daniela Ciobanu
Julia Helbet
Gabriela Porubin
Elvira Juravliova (replaced by Anastasia Detiuc)
Captain: Andrei Andreev

Lesedi Sheya Jacobs
Kerstin Gressmann
Liniques Theron
Playing Captain: Rieke Honiball

Ulrikke Eikeri
Emma Flood
Melanie Stokke
Ida Seljevoll Skancke
Captain: Jorgen Vestli




© ITF Licensing (UK) Ltd. All rights reserved. No portion of this website may be duplicated, redistributed, or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by our Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions.