World Group action starts in


08 April 2013

Davis Cup legends honoured around the world


Photo: Professional SportJeremy Bates (GBR), Bill Knight (GBR) and Bobby Wilson (GBR) receive the Davis Cup Commitment Award

The latest round of Davis Cup Commitment Award presentations took place over the weekend with winners including Ilie Nastase, Greg Rusedski and the Bryan brothers.

The award, which was conceived as part of the ITF’s 2013 Centenary celebrations, is presented to Davis Cup players who have shown long-standing dedication to representing their country.

Each award recipient will have competed in a minimum of 20-home-and-away ties or 50 ties at any level of the competition (including week-long zone group events) over their career.

The ITF presented the first seven trophies to players in an on-court presentation at the 100th Davis Cup Final in Prague last November. Among those presented with awards at last year’s final were Italy’s Nicola Pietrangeli, who heads the elite list of players having played 66 home or away ties for his country, and San Marino’s Domenico Vicini, who holds the record for the most ties played in all levels of the competition with a total of 87.

Here is a full list of this weekend’s award winners:

Colombia – Mauricio Hadad

Great Britain – Jeremy Bates, Billy Knight, Greg Rusedski, Bobby Wilson

Hungary – Kornel Bardoczky, Gergely Kisgyorgy, Robert Machan, Balasz Taroczy

India - Anand Amritraj, Mahesh Bhupathi, Ramanathan Krishnan, Ramesh Krishnan

Poland - Bartłomiej Dąbrowski

Romania - Ilie Nastase, Andrei Pavel, Florin Segarceanu, Ion Tiriac

USA – Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan

Uzbekistan - Vadim Kutsenko, Oleg Ogorodov

The Commitment Award trophies are based on the design of the current Davis Cup trophy. All recipients will also be recognised on an honours board at the ITF headquarters in London and in a dedicated section on A full list of award winners can be viewed here.

Related content

Related news

  • More photos

    • Jeremy Bates (GBR), Bill Knight (GBR) and Bobby Wilson (GBR) receive the Davis Cup Commitment AwardBartlomiej Dabrowski (POL) receives the Davis Cup Commitment Award
    • Bob and Mike Bryan (USA) receive the Davis Cup Commitment AwardCommitment Award: Mauricio Hadad (COL)
    • Commintment Award: Mauricio Hadad (COL)Davis Cup Commitment Award, Greg Rusedski (GBR)
    • Davis Cup Commitment Award, Oleg Ogorodov and Vadim Kutsenko (UZB)Jeremy Bates (GBR), Bill Knight (GBR) and Bobby Wilson (GBR) receive the Davis Cup Commitment Award
    • Davis Cup Commitment Award, Romania - Ilie Nastase, Ion Tiriac, Andrei Pavel, Florin Segarceanu



© ITF Licensing (UK) Ltd. All rights reserved. No portion of this website may be duplicated, redistributed, or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by our Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions.