World Group action starts in


07 February 2013

Commitment Award winners have plenty to celebrate


Guillermo Vilas, David Nalbandian and Javier Frana

The Davis Cup by BNP Paribas World Group first round weekend saw another round of Commitment Award winners receive their trophy at various ties around the globe and included two players from the weekend's biggest stories.

Daniel Nestor was the senior player in Canada's surprise victory over Spain in Toronto, where his experience was supplemented by the youth and exuberance of Milos Raonic who rounded out the win.

Playing in his 43rd tie, the doubles specialist was undone when trying to close out the tie for the hosts on Saturday following his collecting of the award alongside Grant Connell and Sebastien Lareau, partnering Vasek Pospisil against regular tour partners Marc Lopez and Marcel Granollers in five sets. Canada ultimately prevailed, however, and will now progress to play Italy where Nestor will also certainly be given an opportunity to help his team to another historic milestone.

Argentina were victors against a German side beset with injuries through the course of the weekend and a host of stars from the past were alongside David Nalbandian to collect the award and then watch him complete victory.

Guillermo Villas and Jose Luis Clerc, both part of the side that made the Final in 1981, joined Argentina's current stalwart for the ceremony and stayed on to see Nalbandian, alongside Horacio Zeballos, defeat Tobias Kamke and Christopher Kas, 61 64 57 62, to secure the third of the hosts' points in a whitewash 5-0 victory over Germany.

The other World Group tie to witness a Commitment Award ceremony was in Charleroi where Belgium were defeated by Serbia. Filip Dewulf and Olivier Rochus were there to receive their awards and between them have represented Belgium for over two decades in one of the most successful periods for the country in Davis Cup.

The former was a member of the 1999 team that reached the semifinals in their best performance in the competition in recent times. Rochus participated in one rubber over the course of the tie where he took on World No.1 Novak Djokovic entering the match with a 3-2 advantage in the head-to-head but being blown off the court in straight sets on this occasion.

There were also ceremonies on Saturday in Zone Group events including Ireland, India, Japan, Poland, Portugal, Sri Lanka and Uruguay while Denmark held a unique event on Tuesday hosted by Crown Prince Frederik.

A full list of players who received the award this round can be found below:

Argentina – Ricardo Cano, Jose Luis Clerc, Javier Frana, David Nalbandian, Guillermo Villas
Belgium – Olivier Rochus, Filip Dewulf
Bulgaria – Todor Enev
Canada – Grant Connell, Sebastien Lareau, Daniel Nestor
Chinese Taipei – Hsu Huang-Jung
Denmark – Michael Mortensen, Kenneth Carlsen 
Ireland – Owen Casey, Sean Sorensen
India – Jaidip Mukerjea, Leander Paes
– Tsuyoshi Fukui, Satoshi Iwabuchi, Jun Kamiwazumi, Gouichi Motomura
Kazakhstan – Alexey Kedryuk
Kuwait – Muhammad Khaliq Siddiq
Monaco – Bernard Balleret
Peru – Luis Horna, Ivan Miranda
Poland – Mariusz Fyrstenberg, Marcin Matkowski
Portugal – Emanuel Couto, Joao Cunha-Silva, Rui Machado, Nuno Marques, Leonardo Tavares
Sri Lanka – Arjun Fernando
Uruguay – Federico Dondo, Marcel Felder, Marcelo Filippini, Diego Perez

A total of 299 players have already qualified to receive the award, of whom 252 are still alive. Presentations will be made to award winners at Davis Cup home ties throughout 2013.

There are now five active players who are one tie away from achieving the necessary number of ties to qualify for the Commitment Award these are: Frederico Gil (POR), Victor Hanescu (ROU), Michal Mertinak (SVK), Jose Statham (NZL) and Grega Zemlja (SLO).

The Commitment Award trophies are based on the design of the current Davis Cup trophy. All recipients will also be recognised on an honours board at the ITF headquarters in London and in a dedicated section on the official Davis Cup website.

A full list of award winners can be viewed here.

Related content

Related news

  • More photos

    • Guillermo Vilas, David Nalbandian and Javier FranaRicardo Cano, Jose Luis Clerc, Javier Frana, David Nalbandian and Guillermo Vilas receive the Davis Cup Commitment Award in Buenos Aires
    • Daniel Nestor (CAN), Davis Cup Commitment Award, Canada, February 2013Davis Cup Commitment Award
    • Owen Casey (IRL), Davis Cup Commitment Award, Ireland, February 2013Sebastian Lareau (CAN), Davis Cup Commitment Award
    • Michael Mortensen, Henrik Klitvad (DTF-president), Crown Prince of Denmark Frederik, Frederik Løchte Nielsen (new DTF-ambassador), Helle Nielsen (widow of Kurt Nielsen), Kenneth Carlsen and Stein Ulrich (son of Jørgen Ulrich/nephew to Torben Ulrich/grandsJoao Cunha-Silva (POR) Davis Cup Commitment Award, Portugal, February 2013 (left)
    • Leonardo Tavares (POR) Davis Cup Commitment Award, Portugal, February 2013 (left)Nuno Marques (POR) Davis Cup Commitment Award, Portugal, February 2013 (left)
    • Davis Cup Commitment Award, India, February 2013Mariusz Fyrstenberg and Marcin Matkowski (POL)
    • Portugal's Rui Machado, Leonardo Tavares, Emanuel Couto, Nuno Marques, João Cunha e Silva, Davis Cup Commitment Award, Portugal, February 2013 (left to right)

© ITF Licensing (UK) Ltd. All rights reserved. No portion of this website may be duplicated, redistributed, or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by our Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions.