03 Jun 2013

Entries confirmed for World Team Championship

News Article

By Nick Fishpool

Photo: Dennis G. IljushenkovBeach Tennis World Team Championship 2012

The ITF can announce that entries for the second annual World Team Championship have now been confirmed for the four day tournament to be held in Russia for the second time as part of a three-year agreement.

The highly fancied Italian’s will be back to defend their title and this year will see the playing field increased to 22 nations and will include eight nations taking part for the first time when the action gets underway at the National Tennis Centre in Moscow on 18 July.

The eight nations entering for the first time are Argentina, Aruba, Estonia, Great Britain, Japan, Lithuania, Spain and Switzerland.

Brazil, one of four entrants from the American continent, are expected to once again provide the main threat to the dominant Italian’s while France will be looking to improve on their thrid place finish in the inaugural year.

The tournament hosts, Russia, who finished a respectable fourth in 2012 following a thrilling third place play-off match with France, can expect a huge following and will also fancy their chances of progressing deep into the 4-day tournament once more.

Squad nominations are due by 17 June with an announcement following shortly after.


Entered Nations

Argentina | Aruba | Austria | Belgium | Brazil | Bulgaria | Cyprus | Estonia | France | Germany | Great Britain | Hungary | Italy | Japan | Lithuania | Portugal | Russia | San Marino | Spain | Switzerland | Ukraine | Venezuela