Chris Evert was the first ever women's ITF World Champion in 1978 and went on to be honoured three times in total. Steffi Graf (seven awards) Martina Navratilova (six) and Serena Williams (six) have been the most prolific recipients.

Women's singles

Angelique Kerber becomes Germany’s first World Champion since Steffi Graf received the last of seven awards in 1996.

The 28-year-old enjoyed a stunning season, defeating Serena Williams to capture her first Grand Slam title at the Australian Open, before going on to win the US Open. She was also a silver medallist at the Olympic Tennis Event and runner-up at the BNP Paribas WTA Finals.  

Kerber said: “I’m truly honoured to be named ITF World Champion and to line up with all these past champions. This year was by far the best of my career with so many unforgettable experiences and emotions. I am grateful for the recognition and I’m looking forward to the upcoming challenges.”

Kerber received her 2016 award at the ITF World Champions Dinner in Paris on 6 June 2017.

Honour roll

- 2016: Angelique Kerber (GER)
- 2015: Serena Williams (USA)
- 2014: Serena Williams (USA)
- 2013: Serena Williams (USA)
- 2012: Serena Williams (USA)
- 2011: Petra Kvitova (CZE)
- 2010: Caroline Wozniacki (DEN)
- 2009: Serena Williams (USA)
- 2008: Jelena Jankovic (SRB)
- 2007: Justine Henin (BEL)
- 2006: Justine Henin-Hardenne (BEL)
- 2005: Kim Clijsters (BEL)
- 2004: Anastasia Myskina (RUS)
- 2003: Justine Henin-Hardenne (BEL)
- 2002: Serena Williams (USA)
- 2001: Jennifer Capriarti (USA)
- 2000: Martina Hingis (SUI)
- 1999: Martina Hingis (SUI)
- 1998: Lindsay Davenport (USA)
- 1997: Martina Hingis (SUI)
- 1996: Steffi Graf (GER)
- 1995: Steffi Graf (GER)
- 1994: Arantxa Sanchez-Vicario (ESP)
- 1993: Steffi Graf (GER)
- 1992: Monica Seles (YUG)
- 1991: Monica Seles (YUG)
- 1990: Steffi Graf (GER)
- 1989: Steffi Graf (GER)
- 1988: Steffi Graf (GER)
- 1987: Steffi Graf (GER)
- 1986: Martina Navratilova (USA)
- 1985: Martina Navratilova (USA)
- 1984: Martina Navratilova (USA)
- 1983: Martina Navratilova (USA)
- 1982: Martina Navratilova (USA)
- 1981: Chris Evert Lloyd (USA)
- 1980: Chris Evert (USA)
- 1979: Martina Navratilova (USA)
- 1978: Chris Evert (USA)

Women's doubles

Caroline Garcia and Kristina Mladenovic also enjoyed an outstanding first season together to end 2016 as the No. 1-ranked team, and help France reach the Fed Cup by BNP Paribas Final.

They captured their first Grand Slam title at Roland Garros, and went on to reach the final at the US Open. This is the second honour for Mladenovic, who received the ITF Junior World Champion award in 2009.

Garcia said: “We really had an exceptional year with great victories on the court, even though we only started playing together at the beginning of 2016. Winning Roland Garros at home was definitely the culmination of the year. It is an incredible success to finish the No. 1 team in the world, and an honour to receive this ITF trophy.”

Mladenovic said: “It is a great achievement for Caroline and I to win this trophy after having played only one season together. The highlight of the year was definitely winning the French Open in our own country. We get on very well both on and off court and are looking forward to more success next year.”

Garcia and Mladenovic received their 2016 award at the ITF World Champions Dinner in Paris on 6 June 2017.

Honour roll

- 2016: Caroline Garcia (FRA) / Kristina Mladenovic (FRA)
- 2015: Martina Hingis (SUI) / Sania Mirza (IND)
- 2014: Sara Errani (ITA) / Roberta Vinci (ITA)
- 2013: Sara Errani (ITA) / Roberta Vinci (ITA)
- 2012: Sara Errani (ITA) / Roberta Vinci (ITA)
- 2011: Kveta Peschke (CZE) / Katarina Srebotnik (SLO)
- 2010: Gisela Dulko (ARG) / Flavia Pennetta (ITA)
- 2009: Serena Williams (USA) / Venus Williams (USA)
- 2008: Cara Black (ZIM) / Liezel Huber (USA)
- 2007: Cara Black (ZIM) / Liezel Huber (USA)
- 2006: Lisa Raymond (USA) / Samantha Stosur (AUS)
- 2005: Lisa Raymond (USA) / Samantha Stosur (AUS)
- 2004: Virginia Ruano-Pascual (ESP) / Paola Suarez (ARG)
- 2003: Virginia Ruano-Pascual (ESP) / Paola Suarez (ARG)
- 2002: Virginia Ruano-Pascual (ESP) / Paola Suarez (ARG)
- 2001: Lisa Raymond (USA) / Rennae Stubbs (AUS)
- 2000: Julie Halard-Decugis (FRA) / Ai Sugiyama (JPN)
- 1999: Martina Hingis (SUI) / Anna Kournikova (RUS)
- 1998: Lindsay Davenport (USA) / Natalia Zvereva (BLR)
- 1997: Lindsay Davenport (USA) / Jana Novotna (CZE)
- 1996: Lindsay Davenport (USA) / Mary Joe Fernandez (USA)