Brad Parks, one of the co-founders of the game, and Chantal Vandierendonck were the first ITF World Champions for wheelchair tennis in 1991. In more recent times, Shingo Kunieda and Esther Vergeer have ruled the roost.


Shingo Kunieda became Men’s Wheelchair World Champion for the sixth time after retaining the year-end world No. 1 ranking. The 30-year-old only lost one match all year, winning 12 singles titles on the UNIQLO Wheelchair Tennis Tour and boasting a 51-1 overall win-loss record.

He won all three Grand Slam singles events, taking his total major titles to 17, and was also champion at the season-ending NEC Wheelchair Tennis Masters.

Kunieda said: “I am very happy to be world champion six times. I played well this year and still feel I am improving my tennis. I'd like to thank my team and am already looking forward to next season.”

Kunieda received his 2014 award at the ITF World Champions Dinner in Paris on 2 June 2015.

Honour roll

- 2014: Shingo Kunieda (JPN)
- 2013: Shingo Kunieda (JPN)
- 2012: Stephane Houdet (FRA)
- 2011: Maikel Scheffers (NED)
- 2010: Shingo Kunieda (JPN)
- 2009: Shingo Kunieda (JPN)
- 2008: Shingo Kunieda (JPN)
- 2007: Shingo Kunieda (JPN)
- 2006: Robin Ammerlaan (NED)
- 2005: Michael Jeremiasz (FRA)
- 2004: David Hall (AUS)
- 2003: David Hall (AUS)
- 2002: David Hall (AUS)
- 2001: Ricky Molier (NED)
- 2000: David Hall (AUS)
- 1999: Steven Welch (USA)
- 1998: David Hall (AUS)
- 1997: Ricky Molier (NED)
- 1996: Ricky Molier (NED)
- 1995: David Hall (AUS)
- 1994: Laurent Giammartini (FRA)
- 1993: Kai Schrameyer (GER)
- 1992: Laurent Giammartini (FRA)
- 1991: Randy Snow (USA)


Yui Kamiji was named Women’s Wheelchair World Champion for the first time after dominating the Grand Slam tournaments. The 20-year-old captured her first two major titles at Roland Garros and the US Open, and was runner-up at the Australian Open.

She also partnered Britain’s Jordanne Whiley to the women’s doubles Grand Slam. Kamiji won a total of eight singles titles during 2014 and is the first Asian woman to receive this honour.

Kamiji said: “2014 is definitely the year to remember in my career. I was proud to win my first two Grand Slam titles and reach the final of the Australian Open. "It was also very special to achieve the doubles calendar Grand Slam and win the Doubles Masters with my best friend on tour Jordanne Whiley."

Kamiji received her 2014 award at the ITF World Champions Dinner in Paris on 2 June 2015.

Honour roll

- 2014: Yui Kamiji (JPN)
- 2013: Aniek van Koot (NED)
- 2012: Esther Vergeer (NED)
- 2011: Esther Vergeer (NED)
- 2010: Esther Vergeer (NED)
- 2009: Esther Vergeer (NED)
- 2008: Esther Vergeer (NED)
- 2007: Esther Vergeer (NED)
- 2006: Esther Vergeer (NED)
- 2005: Esther Vergeer (NED)
- 2004: Esther Vergeer (NED)
- 2003: Esther Vergeer (NED)
- 2002: Esther Vergeer (NED)
- 2001: Esther Vergeer (NED)
- 2000: Esther Vergeer (NED)
- 1999: Daniela di Toro (AUS)
- 1998: Daniela di Toro (AUS)
- 1997: Chantal Vandierendonck (NED)
- 1996: Chantal Vandierendonck (NED)
- 1995: Monique Kalkman (NED)
- 1994: Monique Kalkman (NED)
- 1993: Monique Kalkman (NED)
- 1992: Monique Kalkman (NED)
- 1991: Chantal Vandierendonck (NED)