Bjorn Borg dominated in the early years of this prestigious accolade, being named the inaugural men's ITF World Champion in 1978 and following up with two more triumphs. John McEnroe and Ivan Lendl were both honoured three times apiece before Pete Sampras took over in the 1990s with six awards. Roger Federer stamped his authority by winning on five occasions between 2004 and 2009, while Novak Djokovic also dominated between 2011 and 2015.

Men's singles

Rafael Nadal became the oldest ITF Men's World Champion at the age of 31 after a stunning comeback year in which he won a record tenth Roland Garros title and a third US Open crown. He was also a finalist at the Australian Open. Nadal claimed six titles in 2017 and sealed the year-end No. 1 ranking at the Paris Masters, becoming the oldest player to do so since the inception of the ATP rankings in 1973.

“I am very happy to receive this award from the ITF and be the 2017 ITF World Champion," said Nadal. "It is four years since I last finished No. 1 on the ATP rankings and this has a special feeling. Congrats also to Garbine on her achievement which is great for our country. Many thanks to my team and my fans, and a special thank you to my uncle Toni for all these years.”

Nadal will receive his 2017 award at the ITF World Champions Dinner in Paris on 5 June 2018.

Honour roll

- 2017: Rafael Nadal (ESP)
- 2016: Andy Murray (GBR)
- 2015: Novak Djokovic (SRB)
- 2014: Novak Djokovic (SRB)
- 2013: Novak Djokovic (SRB)
- 2012: Novak Djokovic (SRB)
- 2011: Novak Djokovic (SRB)
- 2010: Rafael Nadal (ESP)
- 2009: Roger Federer (SUI)
- 2008: Rafael Nadal (ESP)
- 2007: Roger Federer (SUI)
- 2006: Roger Federer (SUI)
- 2005: Roger Federer (SUI)
- 2004: Roger Federer (SUI)
- 2003: Andy Roddick (USA)
- 2002: Lleyton Hewitt (AUS)
- 2001: Lleyton Hewitt (AUS)
- 2000: Gustavo Kuerten (BRA)
- 1999: Andre Agassi (USA)
- 1998: Pete Sampras (USA)
- 1997: Pete Sampras (USA)
- 1996: Pete Sampras (USA)
- 1995: Pete Sampras (USA)
- 1994: Pete Sampras (USA)
- 1993: Pete Sampras (USA)
- 1992: Jim Courier (USA)
- 1991: Stefan Edberg (SWE)
- 1990: Ivan Lendl (TCH)
- 1989: Boris Becker (GER)
- 1988: Mats Wilander (SWE)
- 1987: Ivan Lendl (TCH)
- 1986: Ivan Lendl (TCH)
- 1985: Ivan Lendl (TCH)
- 1984: John McEnroe (USA)
- 1983: John McEnroe (USA)
- 1982: Jimmy Connors (USA)
- 1981: John McEnroe (USA)
- 1980: Bjorn Borg (SWE)
- 1979: Bjorn Borg (SWE)
- 1978: Bjorn Borg (SWE)

Men's doubles

Lukasz Kubot and Marcelo Melo ended the year as the No. 1 men’s doubles team in their first full season together, sealing the top spot at the ATP Finals. A memorable year for the pair was highlighted by six titles, with an undefeated grass-court season culminating in victory at Wimbledon following an epic 4 hour, 40 minute title match against Oliver Marach and Mate Pavic.

Kubot said: "We are very happy and thankful to our team members who put in a lot of work and energy on and off the court, and to our fans. When we teamed up our target was to finish 2017 at the ATP Finals, and from the very start of the year we tried to find a strategy to build up our confidence. All the small details came together during the year and we had great results. We are already looking forward to next season.”

Melo said: “I'm very happy and honoured to be named ITF World Champion. It's something we dreamed about and now we made it happen. This year has been amazing for me and Lukasz, the first year we're playing together. Finishing the year as the No. 1 team in the world means a lot to me.”

Kubot and Melo will receive their 2017 award at the ITF World Champions Dinner in Paris on 5 June 2018.

Honour roll

- 2017: Lukasz Kubot (POL) / Marcelo Melo (BRA)
- 2016: Jamie Murray (GBR) / Bruno Soares (BRA)
- 2015: Jean-Julien Rojer (NED) / Horia Tecau (ROU)
- 2014: Bob Bryan (USA) / Mike Bryan (USA)
- 2013: Bob Bryan (USA) / Mike Bryan (USA)
- 2012: Bob Bryan (USA) / Mike Bryan (USA)
- 2011: Bob Bryan (USA) / Mike Bryan (USA)
- 2010: Bob Bryan (USA) / Mike Bryan (USA)
- 2009: Bob Bryan (USA) / Mike Bryan (USA)
- 2008: Daniel Nestor (CAN) / Nenad Zimonjic (SRB)
- 2007: Bob Bryan (USA) / Mike Bryan (USA)
- 2006: Bob Bryan (USA) / Mike Bryan (USA)
- 2005: Bob Bryan (USA) / Mike Bryan (USA)
- 2004: Bob Bryan (USA) / Mike Bryan (USA)
- 2003: Bob Bryan (USA) / Mike Bryan (USA)
- 2002: Daniel Nestor (CAN) / Mark Knowles (BAH)
- 2001: Jonas Bjorkman (SWE) / Todd Woodbridge (AUS)
- 2000: Todd Woodbridge (AUS) / Mark Woodforde (AUS)
- 1999: Mahesh Bhupathi (IND) / Leander Paes (IND)
- 1998: Jacco Eltingh (NED) / Paul Haarhuis (NED)
- 1997: Todd Woodbridge (AUS) / Mark Woodforde (AUS)
- 1996: Todd Woodbridge (AUS) / Mark Woodforde (AUS)