World Champions Dinner

The ITF World Champions Dinner is an annual event that takes place in Paris during the Roland Garros fortnight. In 2015, it was held on 2 June.

The celebration brings together over 400 members of the tennis family to honour the ITF World Champions, who are recognised for their outstanding performance from the previous year.

Serbia's Novak Djokovic and USA's Serena Williams scooped the top men's and women's singles awards after their performances during the 2014 season, while the best doubles teams, juniors and wheelchair players were also commended.

Philippe Chatrier Award

The Philippe Chatrier Award is named after the late former French player, who dedicated his life to tennis. After his playing career ended, he went on to become a journalist and then the President of both the International Tennis Federation and French Tennis Federation. He also served as France's Davis Cup captain.

The Philippe Chatrier Award is presented to someone who has given long and outstanding service to the game. Stefan Edberg was the first person to be honoured in 1996 and there have now been a total of 20 recipients. That list includes technology giants NEC in 2001, the year that marked the company's 20-year sponsorship of Davis Cup.

The All England Lawn Tennis Club (AELTC) receives the Philippe Chatrier Award in recognition of its
contribution to tennis ever since it opened its gates for its first tennis championship in 1877. As
organiser of the oldest of the four Grand Slam tournaments, it takes its role as a guardian of the game
seriously, but has never been afraid to push boundaries to ensure that Wimbledon remains at the
forefront of tennis in every aspect.
ITF President Francesco Ricci Bitti said: “As a sport, tennis is blessed to have an organisation like the
AELTC, always generous and never complacent, promoting our sport around the world while
continuing to set very high standards for themselves and for those privileged to compete at
Wimbledon’s backing of open tennis was a pivotal moment in the history of the sport. The Club’s
decision to hold a special professional tournament on Centre Court in 1967 and follow it with an open
Championships in 1968 triggered tennis’s move from amateur to professional status.
Treading a well-judged line between tradition and innovation, the AELTC has embraced both
technology and new construction. Its partnership with the BBC is the longest-running sports rights
agreement in world sport, and has been finding inventive new ways to present tennis to a television
audience since 1937. Extensive building work at Wimbledon’s Church Road site over the last 20
years has created new player facilities, three new show courts, and a revolutionary roof over Centre
Court. Future upgrades are planned to the benefit of players, visitors and the worldwide television and
internet audiences alike.
The AELTC also looks out to the wider world and understands its role in inspiring future generations
to take up the sport. In 1985, Wimbledon made the first of what would become an annual donation to
help the ITF’s efforts to develop tennis around the world. The other majors followed, the Grand Slam
Development Fund was established in 1986, and more than $83 million has been raised since.
The organisation’s willingness to collaborate with the Olympic movement in the staging of two
Olympic tennis events, in 1908 and to great acclaim in 2012, has ensured that tennis has been centre
stage at the biggest sporting event in the world.

In 2015, American broadcaster Mary Carillo was given the award. Carillo began her life in tennis as a player, but has enjoyed greater success as a sports broadcaster of distinction. She is a pioneer not just for women in her profession, but for a new style of broadcasting.

Having trained at the Port Washington Tennis Academy under the legendary Harry Hopman, Carillo captured the 1977 Roland Garros mixed doubles title with childhood friend John McEnroe, then 18. This was to be the highlight of a career that saw her reach No. 33 in the world rankings.

In 1980, after three years on the tour, Carillo retired with knee injuries and began a new career as a tennis analyst for USA Network. Since then she has covered the sport for nearly every US broadcaster including PBS, MSG, ESPN, CBS Sports, HBO, Turner Sports, NBC and Tennis Channel, for whom she will be broadcasting in Paris.

Carillo has built a reputation as a distinctive voice in tennis and someone who is candid, straight-talking and opinionated but who also loves the sport. Her unique style has been embraced by broadcasters and over the years she has branched out into other sports, covering 12 summer and winter Olympics, including nine for NBC. She has also won a Sports Emmy and two prestigious Peabody Awards for documentaries about Billie Jean King and women in sport.

Carillo has continued to give back to tennis, including serving as chairwoman of the USTA Foundation from 2009 to 2014. She is honoured for her very special contribution to the sport that she continues to care passionately about.

Mary Carillo received the Philippe Chatrier Award at the ITF World Champions Dinner in Paris on 2 June 2015.

Honour roll

- 2015: Mary Carillo (USA)
- 2014: Todd Woodbridge (AUS) and Mark Woodforde (AUS)
- 2013: All England Lawn Tennis Club 
- 2012: Arantxa Sanchez Vicario (ESP)
- 2011: Guy Forget (FRA)
- 2010: Gustavo Kuerten (BRA)
- 2009: Martina Navratilova (USA)
- 2008: Neale Fraser (AUS)
- 2007: John McEnroe (USA)
- 2006: Margaret Court (AUS)
- 2005: Tony Trabert (USA)
- 2004: Yannick Noah (FRA)
- 2003: Billie Jean King (USA)
- 2002: Jack Kramer (USA)
- 2001: NEC
- 2000: Juan Antonio Samaranch (ESP)
- 1999: Nicola Pietrangeli (ITA)
- 1998: Rod Laver (AUS)
- 1997: Chris Evert (USA)
- 1996: Stefan Edberg (SWE)