25 Mar 2013

Tennis Europe AGM held in Tallinn

News Article

Jacques Dupré, Francesco Ricci Bitti and Urmas Soorumaa

Tennis Europe's 39th Annual General Meeting took place in Tallinn last weekend as part of the Estonian Tennis Association's centenary celebrations.

Chaired by Tennis Europe President Jacques Dupré, and opened by the President of the Estonian Tennis Association, Urmas Soorumaa, the meeting took place at Swissôtel Tallinn and saw a total of 98 delegates from 36 of Tennis Europe’s 49 member nations in attendance.

ITF President Francesco Ricci Bitti was in attendance, providing his annual update on the International Tennis Federation's activities, while ITF Executive Vice-President Juan Margets gave the delegates a detailed look at the current situation of the Davis Cup by BNP Paribas competition. An opportunity was then given for the European candidates at the forthcoming ITF Board of Directors elections to make short presentations and participate in a question and answer session with the delegates.

“The meeting was very well-attended and I am grateful to all of the delegates, guests and observers for their contributions on both days, in particular Mr. Ricci Bitti, whose presence and commitment is greatly appreciated," said Tennis Europe President Jacques Dupre.

"The reports given here have shown that Tennis Europe has continued to perform well in our key activities over the past year, and we are looking forward to embarking on the new projects announced for the coming months. It is a source of great pride for us to see the continued progress of tennis in Serbia, and their ascension in membership status is entirely merited.

"I would also especially like to thank Mr. Soorumaa and all his staff for their hard work and warm hospitality. We are honoured to have been invited to Tallinn during the centenary year of the Estonian Tennis Association and to be able to see first-hand the excellent job that they are doing.”

Guest of honour at the dinner was Ene Ergma, President of the Riigikogu, who was on hand to see the European Tennis Trophy awards presented to 2012 winners Netherlands (Wheelchair Tennis), Germany (Seniors Tennis), Russia (Junior Tennis) and Czech Republic (Professional Tennis and Overall Performance). Special recognitions were also made to Serbia (Best-Performing ‘C’-Nation), Slovak Republic (Best-Performing ‘B’-Nation) and Hungary (Greatest Improvement).

Tennis Europe confirmed during the meeting that next year’s AGM will be hosted by the Bulgarian Tennis Federation in Sofia from 27-30 March, 2014.