06 Sep 2013

International Hall of Fame nominees announced

News Article

Photo: Hiroshi SatoCaptain Conchita Martinez (ESP)

The International Tennis Hall of Fame Class of 2014 nominees have been announced and former world No. 1 and six-time Grand Slam champion Lindsay Davenport, winner of two Grand Slam singles titles Mary Pierce and 1994 Wimbledon champion Conchita Martinez are the headline names.

Also nominated in the Recent Player Category is Chantal Vandierendonck, who became the first ITF World Champion for wheelchair tennis in 1991.

Additionally, three individuals have been nominated in the Contributor Category for their work toward the growth and development of the sport. Legendary tennis coach Nick Bollettieri, who has guided ten players to world No. 1 status; Jane Brown Grimes, who has held executive leadership roles with the WTA, USTA, and the International Tennis Hall of Fame; and British tennis broadcaster and author John Barrett.

The 2014 nominees were announced live on the air during Thursday's US Open broadcast on Tennis Channel, where Lindsay Davenport is a member of the team.

There are no nominees for 2014 in the Master Player Category, which honours individuals who had tremendous tennis accomplishments but have not been a major factor on a professional tour for 20 years or more.

"Lindsay Davenport, Mary Pierce, and Conchita Martinez were three of the most exciting women's tennis players of their time,”  said Stan Smith, who was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 1987 and now serves as the International Tennis Hall of Fame President and Chair of the Enshrinee Nominating Committee.

“They brought many fans to the sport, delivered exciting matches, and achieved tremendous results. Chantal Vandierendonck was a trailblazer for wheelchair tennis, inspiring many athletes after her, building the sport up, and achieving incredible success.

"Of course, tennis would not be the exciting, global sport we know and love today were it not for the work of many dedicated coaches, administrators, and journalists, and so we are delighted to recognise Nick Bollettieri, Jane Brown Grimes, and John Barrett with appreciation and admiration for all they have done for tennis.”

Voting for the 2014 ballot will take place over the next several months, culminating with an announcement early next year to reveal the Class of 2014. The International Media Panel, which consists of tennis journalists and authors, will vote on the Recent Player nominee.

The International Masters Panel, which consists of Hall of Famers and individuals who are highly knowledgeable of the sport and its history, will vote on the Contributor nominees. To be inducted in either category, an affirmative vote of 75% is required.

The Class of 2014 Enshrinement Ceremony will be hosted on Saturday, 12 July 2014 during Rolex Hall of Fame Enshrinement Weekend at the International Tennis Hall of Fame in Newport, Rhode Island. The ceremony will be held in conjunction with the annual Hall of Fame Tennis Championships, an ATP World Tour event.