12 Jul 2013

Meet the Board

News Article

Photo: Corinne DubreuilThe ITF Board of Directors 2013-15

The ITF Board of Directors for 2013-2015 has been elected at the ITF's centenary AGM in Paris, France. We profile the new board here:

Tarak Cherif, TunisiaTarak Cherif

Tarak is on the ITF Board of Directors for the first time. He is currently President of the Confederation of African Tennis. He was President of the Tunisian Tennis Federation from 1998 to 2009 and was a member of the ITF’s Olympic Committee from 2005 to 2013.

He is Chairman and General Manager of several business societies and is currently President of the Confederation of Tunisian Citizen Enterprises and a member of the Board of Directors and Vide President of the Institut Arabe des Chefs d’Enterprises.

Sergio Elias, ChileSergio Elias

Sergio is new to the ITF Board of Directors. He is President of Honor of the Chilean Tennis Federation, a member of the Pan American Tennis Committee, President of Special Olympics Chile and Vice President of COSAT. Last year Sergio received the ITF Award for Services to the Game.

He is Assistant Professor of the course “Financing Mathematics” for the School of Economy and Business Administration at Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Chile and is involved as a partner at a number of businesses.

Jean Gachassin, France

Jean Gachassin

Jean is President of both the French Tennis Federation and Roland Garros, positions he has held since 2009. He joined the ITF Board of Directors as Vice President in 2011.

In his younger years, Jean was a member of the French junior teams, but it was as a rugby player that he made his name, picking up 32 caps for France during the 1960s. He was a member of the side that won the five nations Grand Slam in 1968.

Jack Graham QC, Canada
Jack Graham

Jack has been a member of the ITF Board of Directors since 2009 and is also Co-ordinator of the ITF Governance Working Group. He is Director Emeritus at Tennis Canada having served as Chairman from 2006-10. In 2012, he became a member of the Court of Arbitration for Sport in Lausanne, Switzerland, and the same year was awarded the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal by the Canadian Olympic Committee for outstanding contribution to Canadian sport. He also has a long history in tennis coaching.

Jack, who received Queen’s Counsel designation in 2008, is a Senior Partner at McInnes Cooper, the largest law partnership in Atlantic Canada. He first studied at Acadia University, where he played on the tennis team, before going on to Dalhousie University.

David Haggerty, USADavid Haggerty

David joins the ITF Board of Directors for the first time. He became Chairman, CEO and President of the United States Tennis Association this year and has been a member of the Grand Slam Committee since 2011.

David attended George Washington University on a full tennis scholarship and went on to play several months professionally in Europe. He has worked mostly in the racquet industry, working his way up to general manager before taking a position at Dunlop as the president of Racquet Sports. He joined Head in 1998 where he served as president of Head/Penn Racquet Sports and Penn Worldwide before becoming chairman and chief executive officer of Head’s US businesses.

Stephen Healy, AustraliaStephen Healy

Stephen is a new member of the ITF Board of Directors. He has been President of Tennis Australia since 2010 and became President of the Oceania Tennis Federation this year.

Stephen is a former professional tennis player. He attended Tulsa University in Oklahoma on a tennis scholarship and is a former Australian junior hard court doubles champion. He is a partner at Gadens Lawyers.

Anil Khanna, IndiaAnil Khanna

Anil returns to the ITF Board of Directors having previously served on the board between 2003 and 2011. He is President of the Asian Tennis Federation, the All India Tennis Association and the Delhi Lawn Tennis Association.

He is a former national-ranked junior and senior player and represented Delhi State in juniors and seniors. He is currently Chairman of Emiretus-Saurer Embroidery Systems and Managing Director of a Japanese joint venture company.

Juan Margets, SpainJuan Margets

Juan joined the ITF Board of Directors in 1997 and began as Executive Vice President the following year. He is also currently the Chairman of both the Davis Cup Committee and ITF Men’s Circuit Committee, and is a member of the WTA Tour Board, Spanish Olympic Committee and a 14 person Advisory Board for the Catalan Ministry of Sport.

In his junior years, Juan was the 14&U national champion in Spain and went on to represent his country in the 18&U team. He studied Economics at the University of Barcelona.

Roman Murashkovsky, RussiaRoman Murashkovsky

Roman is beginning his third term on the ITF Board of Directors, having started in 2009. He is also Chairman of the ITF Seniors Committee and Vice President of the Russian Tennis Federation.

In the early 1990s, Roman was founder and supporter of the Kremlin Cup, an ATP World Tour event held in Moscow. He has worked on numerous Olympic hosting bids and served in the Kremlin as an advisor. He studied in Moscow and then Boston.

Stuart Smith OBE, Great BritainStuart Smith

Stuart joined the ITF Board of Directors in 2009 after being President of the Lawn Tennis Association from 2006-08. He is Chairman of the Wheelchair Tennis Committee and Chairman of the Technical Commission. He is heavily involved with the running of Wimbledon as a member of the Committee of Management of The Championships and Director of The All England Lawn Tennis Ground plc.

Stuart, who was awarded an OBE for Services to Sport in 2009, has played county and national veteran tennis events, and captained England’s Over 50s team from 1999-00. He is a Chartered Surveyor by trade after studying Economics and Land Economy at Cambridge University.

Rene Stammbach, SwitzerlandRene Stammbach

Rene joined the ITF Board of Directors in 2011. He has been President of Swiss Tennis since 2006 and Chairman of the Swiss Tennis Foundation since 2009.

Rene, a qualified tennis coach, studied Economics, Finance and Administration at St Gallen University and speaks four languages – English, French, German and Italian. In business, he is currently President of Delico Group, President and CEO of RS Management Consulting Ltd, Chairman of the Global Marketing Board, Julius Baer Bank Group and Board member of the Swiss Transport Museum.

Jon Vegosen, USAJon Vegosen

Jon joined the ITF Board of Directors as Vice President in 2011 and is also Chairman of the Joint Media Commission. In 2013 he became Immediate Past President on the United States Tennis Association Board and also Chair, Past President’s Committee, Chair Major Construction Oversight Com of the USTA.

Jon studied at Northwestern University and was captain of the tennis team for two years. He is a founding member of Chicago-based law firm Funkhouser, Vegosen, Liebman & Dunn Ltd, which was created in 1981.

Georg Von Waldenfels, GermanyGeorg von Waldenfels

Georg has been on the ITF Board of Directors since 2001. He joined the Fed Cup Committee in the same year, becoming Chairman in 2003, and is also Chairman of the ITF Seniors Committee. He was president of the German Tennis Federation for 14 years until 2012.

Georg has held various positions with the Bavarian State Parliament, including Minister of Finance, Minister of Federal and European Affairs, and Minister of Economic Affairs. He is currently Solicitor of Counsel for leading law firm Clifford Chance in Munich.