Hyundai Hopman Cup

Hopman Cup Logo (no Hyundai)

The Hyundai Hopman Cup - an official team competition of the ITF since 1996 - is an international mixed event that was first contested in 1989.

It is staged at the start of each year in Perth, Australia. In 2013, the Hopman Cup celebrated its 25th year by moving to the state-of-the-art Perth Arena.

The event was born out of admiration for Harry Hopman, the great Australian, with former players Paul McNamee and Charlie Fancutt responsible for conceiving the idea.

The Hopman Cup has consistently attracted the game’s best players. More than 20 former world No. 1's have represented their nation over the years.

Some of the all-time greats to play at the Hopman Cup include John McEnroe, Ivan Lendl, Yannick Noah, Mats Wilander, Pat Cash, Boris Becker, Marat Safin, Lleyton Hewitt, Roger Federer, Novak Djokovic, Steffi Graf, Arantxa Sanchez Vicario, Monica Seles, Martina Hingis, Lindsay Davenport, Justine Henin, Kim Clijsters and Serena Williams.

For the players, it is an entertaining and relaxing way of starting the season before contesting the first Grand Slam of the year, the Australian Open. It was clearly good preparation for Djokovic in 2011, as the Serb won his three Hopman Cup singles matches and then went on to lift the trophy at Melbourne Park.

France won the most recent installment of the event as Alize Cornet and Jo-Wilfried Tsonga defeated top seeds Poland in the final. The French clinched the title 2-1 with victory in the mixed doubles rubber over Agnieszka Radwanska and Grzegorz Panfil.

For more information about the Hyundai Hopman Cup, including players, nations, news and photos, visit the competition's official website.

Hopman Cup XXVI

The 26th edition of the Hyundai Hopman Cup took place on 28 Dec 2013 - 4 Jan 2014.

Click here to view the Schedule and Results.

Poland                                                                              USA
Agnieszka Radwanska                                                 Sloane Stephens
Grzegorz Panfil                                                                John Isner

France                                                                              Canada
Alize Cornet                                                                      Eugenie Bouchard
Jo-Wilfried Tsonga                                                         Milos Raonic

Czech Republic                                                               Italy
Petra Kvitova                                                                    Flavia Pennetta
Radek Stepanek                                                             Andreas Seppi

Australia                                                                           Spain
Sam Stosur                                                                    Anabel Medina Garrigues
Bernard Tomic                                                                Daniel Munoz de la Nava


Honour roll

1989                                                                                   2003
Czechoslovakia                                                                USA
Helena Sukova / Miloslav Mecir                                     Serena Williams / James Blake

1990                                                                                   2004
Spain                                                                                  USA
Arantxa Sanchez-Vicario / Emilio Sanchez                  Lindsay Davenport / James Blake

1991                                                                                   2005
Yugoslavia                                                                         Slovak Republic
Monica Seles / Goran Prpic                                            Daniela Hantuchova / Dominik Hrbaty

1992                                                                                   2006
Switzerland                                                                        USA
Manuela Maleeva-Fragniere / Jacob Hlasek              Lisa Raymond / Taylor Dent

1993                                                                                   2007
Germany                                                                            Russia
Steffi Graf / Michael Stich                                                Nadia Petrova / Dmitry Tursunov

1994                                                                                   2008
Czech Republic                                                                USA
Jana Novotna / Petr Korda                                             Serena Williams / Mardy Fish

1995                                                                                   2009
Germany                                                                            Slovak Republic
Anke Huber / Boris Becker                                             Dominika Cibulkova / Dominik Hrbaty

1996                                                                                   2010
Croatia                                                                               Spain
Iva Majoli / Goran Ivanisevic                                           MJ Martinez Sanchez / Tommy Robredo

1997                                                                                   2011
USA                                                                                    USA
Chanda Rubin / Justin Gimelstob                               Bethanie Mattek-Sands / John Isner

1998                                                                                   2012
Slovak Republic                                                               Czech Republic
Karina Hadsudova / Karol Kucera                                Petra Kvitova / Tomas Berdych

1999                                                                                   2013
Australia                                                                            Spain
Jelena Dokic / Mark Philippoussis                              Anabel Medina Garrigues / Fernando                                                                                                           Verdasco

2000                                                                                   2014
South Africa                                                                       France
Amanda Coetzer / Wayne Ferriera                                Alize Cornet / Jo-Wilfried Tsonga

Martina Hingis / Roger Federer

Arantxa Sanchez Vicario / Tommy Robredo


  • Alize Cornet (FRA) and Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (FRA) Grzegorz Panfil (POL) and Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (FRA)
  • Alize Cornet (FRA) Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (FRA)
  • Grzegorz Panfil (POL) Agnieszka Radwanska (POL)
  • Alize Cornet (FRA) and Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (FRA) Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (FRA)
  • Alize Cornet (FRA) and Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (FRA) Sloane Stephens (USA)
  • Alize Cornet (FRA) Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (FRA)